How to Convert from SOA to SUA??? - JeepForum.com
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 05-16-2020, 12:02 AM Thread Starter
RGIII4505
1976 CJ5 

How to Convert from SOA to SUA???

Alright so, let me preface this with, I work overseas and haven’t been home in a while and I haven’t owned the Jeep very long. And in complete honesty, I really didn’t pay much attention to my suspension when I bought the Jeep. I had my wife send me some pics yesterday because I have been getting ready to order wheels and tires so they will be there when I am able to get back stateside. Well, that’s when I finally paid attention and realized I have a SOA lift. I am new to Jeeps and honestly I have just felt like “this is how an old CJ5 rides”. So my question is, what all would I have to do to revert back to a SUA kit? Would it be worth it to go back to SUA? This will be a primarily road Jeep. I do want a little lift, but definitely don’t need as much as I currently have. I just need to be able to clear 33” 12.5”. Any advice SUA conversion details would be greatly appreciated.
41e05bd4-d946-4745-96a4-9af1e292b595_1589608806850.jpg
8dc8042f-7fe0-4b9c-ad69-681b5df550a6_1589608903614.jpg

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 05-16-2020, 08:16 AM
StoneTower
1985 CJ7 

You are talking about ride. How does it steer? If done properly, there is nothing wrong with SOA. Some auto manufactures use to build their vehicles that way.

Maybe you could drive someone's SUA CJ5 and compare them.

Switching back involves welding spring pads on the axels and usually involves grinding the old ones off. I have seen some SUA to SOA conversions where people just leave the old spring pad. You will also likely have to change the pitman arm on the steering box. There may be other steering linkages you have to mess with to get everything set up correctly. You will also have to mess with your shock mounts and probably your shock lengths.