Hard to shift from 4 low to 4 high - JeepForum.com
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 09-06-2019, 11:13 PM Thread Starter
AKMTNMAN
1984 CJ8 

Hard to shift from 4 low to 4 high

I am new to Jeep Forum and somewhat new to Jeeps in general. I just bought a 1984 jeep CJ8 Alaska Postal. It has a few issues and I have a handle on most of them. But I am having trouble when shifting out of 4 low to 4 high and back. I have to force it HARD. Some times I can take it out of park to reverse and back to park and it will then shift from 4 low to 4 high, but I still have to put a little force behind it. Then it is just as hard to get back to 4 low. Can anyone out there give a starting point or two. It has a strait 6 and three speed auto Trans and dana 300 transfer case, it will run thru the gears from park thru R,N, D1, D2, D3 and back like butter. but shifting anywhere between 4 low and high is a chore. PLEASE HELP.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 09-07-2019, 12:33 AM
Pathfinder33
1983 CJ7 

My Dana 300 was hard to shift when I first picked it up from the PO. I found that I had a leak on the output shaft, and that a bunch of fluid had drained out. Once it was topped off with fluid it shifts like a dream. I would check with the fluid level first. This case is a gear on gear case, and if there is no lube, and the gears get hot, they can be a chore to shift from one to the other.
post #3 of 16 Old 09-07-2019, 01:43 AM
80cj
Web Wheeler

1980 CJ5 

Quote:
Originally Posted by AKMTNMAN View Post