Engine Problem - JeepForum.com
 13Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 74 Old 07-18-2020, 03:38 PM Thread Starter
Alabamacj71981

Engine Problem

I need help. In short when I try to do 2nd gear at a fast speed or higher (e.g., 3rd gear less throttle) my engine wants to sputter and quit (though it never fully dies). What is happening to my wonderful CJ?

I’ve really only made two changes in last week:
(1) started using Shell Rotella diesel oil
(2) changed my valve cover gasket

I thought I might have knocked a spark plug wire loose so I checked that and went ahead and replaced my spark plugs. Still no bueno.

Can anyone help? I’m learning as I go and have rebuilt tranny and TC but the engine... I’m still learning.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 74 Old 07-18-2020, 04:03 PM
HoDad
1981 CJ5 

Make sure the nuts for the wires on your coil are tight. I had a similar problem and that was it.
post #3 of 74 Old 07-18-2020, 05:27 PM
hp_lovecraft
1981 CJ5 

When you replaced the valve cover gasket, is the return gas line still oriented ABOVE the standard gas line on the 3way filter? Otherwise you will starve your carb at higher speeds if its level or below the fuel line. This is a really common issue. or maybe you knocked a vac line off? The distro line goes over the valve cover. or placed back in the wrong spot? That would cause that.

Or maybe a fuel line got pinched? that is not likely, but it did happen to me once. or maybe while the fuel line was off, debri or contaminates got into the line, and clogged either the float, or one of the jets. that has happened to me.

Beyond that, it may be unrelated to the valve cover. Maybe your distro is not tight, and has been slowely walking out of time. Thats happened to me too.

I don't know your engine or carb, but those are the common symtoms. CHeck the 3way filter, and vac lines. Then you can check your distro and carb.
thumperjohn151 likes this.

post #4 of 74 Old 07-18-2020, 05:29 PM Thread Starter
Alabamacj71981