Does fuel injection conversion add value? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 08-04-2020, 11:01 AM Thread Starter
srreality
1984 CJ7 

Does fuel injection conversion add value?

I recently bought a "work in progress" 1984 CJ7 with 258 6 cylinder, 5 speed. About 70% of a frame-off restoration was complete and well done. The chassis, powertrain, metal work and paint are mostly complete. The engine was rebuilt. My task is to finish the assembly/restoration. I bought this for my own mental health (keep me busy) and to sell eventually. I have some experience restoring cars, but not a Jeep. My initial focus is to complete the power train. Since the engine is "bare" at this point, it's a good time to consider carburetors/fuel injection, exhaust, cooling, etc. The question of the day is: Does a conversion to fuel injection (Howell) add value to the finished product? Does it add enough value to offset the $1300-$1500 cost? An ugly Carter BBD and a nice Weber carb (model 34DGFC, which seems to mean it's not a genuine Weber?) came with the project, but I'm not sure the Weber set-up would pass Colorado emissions. What say, Jeep experts - fuel injection?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 08-04-2020, 11:43 AM
Kanjeep

1984 CJ7 

Garage
As with most upgrades and add-ons, its really up to the buyer as to it's worth. If you were keeping it, I'd say it's absolutely worth the money and it would help get you past CO emissions. If the potential buyer knows his Jeeps, he'll absolutely be more interested if it already has a nice EFI set up on it. If you're finishing up the rebuild and the Jeep is in great shape I'd say you can get your $1300-$1500 back.
post #3 of 16 Old 08-04-2020, 11:48 AM
weapon
1983 CJ7 

easily the best mod I ever did to my jeep. Forget doing all the other things, get the efi. It was like a completely new jeep once it was installed.

post #4 of 16 Old 08-04-2020, 01:17 PM
backupoffmefoo

1981 CJ7 

Garage