DIY Seat Upholstery & Repair - JeepForum.com
 11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 55 Old 02-11-2019, 03:36 AM Thread Starter
keith460
Web Wheeler

1984 CJ7 

DIY Seat Upholstery & Repair

Been wanting to do this awhile, acquiring a set of OEM seats in decent, workable, condition to recover in OEM like material. I say like material, only because I have not received what I ordered on eBay yet.
I have never done any upholstery work before except maybe repair my leather couch frame that broke years ago. This will be a learning experience as we go.

My goal is to strip off the old material on the seats I have and reupholster with new black denim material with the pattern that Jeep used in 1984. Only modifications from original is the added Fold & Tumble seat I acquired from a early YJ model (1987-90) that is the same latching system of those from the Jeep CJ of 1985-86 model year. Was contemplating using a fixed bench seat like I had but, my Repli-Tub already has the front hinge brackets setup on the floor. I just need to acquire the correct latching brackets for the sides that are attached to the wheelhouses.

I have three front seats and two rear seats to work with. Two CJ front seats I bought from Craigslist a couple of years ago for $40.00 and the rear YJ fold & tumble from Craigslist also for $40.00 with a YJ front seat thrown in with the deal. Plus, another fixed rear seat that forum member EricRThompson gave me for free. I thank him for that. Might turn that one into a garage couch/seat raised off the ground some as it is in excellent condition.

My seat candidates:

Attached Thumbnails
2CJ 1YJ Front Seats.jpg   87-95 YJ Fold & Tumble.jpg   79 Rear Seat.jpg  
JoonHoss and Rsb201 like this.

1984 CJ-7 Renegade

post #2 of 55 Old 02-11-2019, 05:49 AM
bdatkins
1978 CJ5 

post #3 of 55 Old 02-11-2019, 06:53 AM
walkerhoundvm

1981 CJ8