Dana 30 Help - JeepForum.com
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 Old 07-13-2020, 08:13 PM Thread Starter
abernut

1985 CJ7 

Dana 30 Help

I have finished the frame of my 85 rebuild and am now starting on the front axle.

I got it most of the way broken down this evening. The only thing left is the ring, pinion, any pressed on bearings and seals. I also need to remove the ball joints, treat the rust, sand, paint, etc...

This is my first time ever ripping into an axle and have a few questions.
When I pulled the shafts out they were both extremely dirty and with a good amount of surface rust. Can I clean this with a wire brush and call it a day or do I need to take them somewhere or replace them. Is this a sign of a bad seal somewhere.

Do I also need to get some sort of long wire brush attachment and clean the axle tubes? There is a lot of grime in there right now.

Also should I invest in some sort of press to remove and re-install all the bearings or is it easy to find a shop that will do that part.

Thanks,
Mike

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 Old 07-13-2020, 08:21 PM
John Strenk

1976 CJ5 

If I saw this, I'd suspect the seal got hard and worn a groove. It may mean a new seal might not work correctly.
But I'm not an expert on these things.
Better wait for someone who has worked on these axles to respond.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I drive a Prius to save money and buy more Jeep Parts....
post #3 of 32 Old 07-13-2020, 10:40 PM
whodatschrome