2Likes
  • 1 Post By John Strenk
  • 1 Post By John Strenk

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 02-13-2020, 07:44 PM Thread Starter
rscottdfw
1984 CJ7 

CJ7 Brake light issue

I'm new to working on a jeep, so i apologize if this is too easy, but the brake lights don't work on my '84 CJ7. tail lights work. blinkers work. fuse is good. replaced brake light switch (which was a pain!), still nothing. Looking for suggestions how to trace the problem. thanks

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 02-13-2020, 08:13 PM
John Strenk

1976 CJ5 

do your emergency flashers work?
If not it’s a a fuse. The brake light and emergency light share the same fuse.

If that’s ok the you will need a test light.
Check both sides of the plug on the brake light switch on the brake pedal.
One side of the plug should have constant power. The other side will have power when the pedal is pressed down.

If no power on one side check the switch is adjusted properly.
If no power on either side then go back to fuse. Some times the socket gets corroded and not make contact.
If it’s ok then you have a broken wire between the fuse box and switch.

If yo do have power then check to see if the turn signal plug is pushed in all the way.
Check if the power from the brake switch is reaching the turn signal plug.

If there is power then there is a problem with the turn signal switch.
If no power at the turn signal plug then you have a broken wire someplace.

Since the turn signal lights work, there is no need to go further than the ts switch.
pedal2themetai likes this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I drive a Prius to save money and buy more Jeep Parts....
post #3 of 15 Old 02-14-2020, 11:57 AM Thread Starter
rscottdfw
1984 CJ7 

thanks....flashers are not working so i'll check fuse box again.