CJ Electrical Help - Constant Power to the Coil - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 07-14-2020, 07:14 PM Thread Starter
wstylz
1983 CJ7 

CJ Electrical Help - Constant Power to the Coil

Hello all - I am a newbie and this is my first post. I know I need to get my profile up and will get to that in the next few days.

I just finished rewiring my 83 CJ 258 with a centech wiring kit. No ECU. Upgraded ignition. All worked prior to the rewire. All seemed to go well until I started testing things out. With the key in off, I am getting constant power at the I terminal of the solenoid and the coil is very hot. The I term wire goes to the ballast resistor which is also hot, and then back to the coil. When the IGN was plugged in that was getting hot as well.

Could this be a bad solenoid? Or maybe the ignition switch? Both are new. Any ideas?

Glad to be here and thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 07-14-2020, 07:41 PM
John Strenk

1976 CJ5 

First I would disconnect the ICM before you burn it up.

When you pull the red wire off the "I" terminal on the solenoid, does the "I" terminal still have power all the time?

Pull the 2 wire terminal off the alternator, Does the (+) on the ignition coil still have power?

Do you have the battery cables on the correct side of the solenoid?

Post a quick drawing of how you rewired the ignition system.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I drive a Prius to save money and buy more Jeep Parts....
post #3 of 19 Old 07-14-2020, 09:01 PM Thread Starter
wstylz
1983 CJ7 

When you pull the red wire off the "I" terminal on the solenoid, does the "I" terminal still have power all the time?

YES. I REMOVED THE WIRE FROM THE I TERMINAL AND THE I TERMINAL STILL HAD POWER. THE COIL NO LONGER HAD POWER.