• 1 Post By EricRThompson
  • 1 Post By Axhammer

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 06-21-2021, 08:15 AM Thread Starter
finsfree

1980 CJ7 

Best way to restore a CJ chassis?

Hello,

I am fairly new to the whole jeep CJ world and now I am up to my elbows into it.

Bought my first CJ7 three months ago and not really knowing what to look for I am now in the process of replacing the chassis. I found a used stock one in really good shape, but it needs to be stripped down, cleaned, primed and painted.

What is the easiest way to do this (I know it's a lot of work)? Would a wire wheel (cup) on a grinder work well cleaning the chassis off?

I know there are a bunch of products out there, but do you think will work?

Thanks,

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 06-21-2021, 09:04 AM
EricRThompson
1979 CJ7 

Garage
I personally would have it blasted. You'll spend a ton of time grinding it by hand. Time = $.
CJWoodman likes this.
post #3 of 10 Old 06-21-2021, 09:11 AM
CJ7-Tim
Real Jeeps have dents

2000 XJ Cherokee 

Have it sandblasted. The cost is not great, and the results are far superior than any Do It Yourself methods, not to mention the time savings.

“We the people are the rightful masters of both Congress and the Courts,
not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow the men who would pervert the Constitution” Abraham Lincoln, 1859.

post #4 of 10 Old 06-21-2021, 09:17 AM
OCDXJ

2001 XJ Cherokee 

Garage
Have it blasted, after doing a 75' Cherokee Chief with wire wheels and other various things it took a very long time and you still can't get into all the tight angles around all the brackets where you need to remove all the rust and have a good paintable surface.

01'XJ,4.0l,AW4,NP231,D30,CHY8.25,3"IROlift,Bilstei n's,IRO OTKsteering,245/70R16,NokianRotiiva AT
post #5 of 10 Old 06-21-2021, 10:20 AM
Fourtrail
1974 CJ6