3Likes
  • 1 Post By BrutusBlue
  • 1 Post By houstoniancj
  • 1 Post By jeepdaddy2000

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 10-19-2021, 07:12 PM Thread Starter
leagleagle

Axle suggestions

I have no doubt this topic has been beat to death and I've spent hours reading,including on this forum but I'm not sure I've really found any real info that has helped me in my thought process.

I've got an '85 CJ7 that has stock axles (Dana 30 front and AMC 20 rear with two piece axles, geared 3:31). Prior owner did a SBC 350 swap and spring over lift years ago.

I currently run 33" tires with heavy wheels and it seems like it's a matter of time before the combination of engine and wheels/tires give me some serious axle problems so I'd like to be proactive.

I have a line on a Dana 44 front and Dana 60 rear geared 4.56 with ARB lockers. I don't foresee this becoming a serious offroad or crawling jeep so though I know they would handle it all, the 60 may be overkill. I'm new to the jeep world so i also don't have a great understanding of the hidden cost on swapping those axles in above and beyond the actual axle costs. I'd like to know more about that from those of you with the knowledge.

Alternatively, are the existing 30 and 20 capable enough if I regear and do the one piece axle swap? If I go this route is it more cost effective than the axle swap?

Last possibility would be to split the baby and do a swap with different axles, maybe a 44 in the rear or a Ford 8.8 or 9".

Let me have it. I want to get this jeep to a point where I can actually drive it without worrying about being soft on the axles, at least not as much as I feel like I baby it now.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 10-19-2021, 09:44 PM
BrutusBlue
1982 CJ7