• 1 Post By Matt1981CJ7
  • 1 Post By jeepdaddy2000
  • 1 Post By BagusJeep

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 02-17-2020, 11:48 AM Thread Starter
Rebel_Ray
1933 CJ5 

AMC 304 Carb choices

Howdy folks! I just recently got my CJ5 back from getting painted and am ready to move on to engine work. Currently the 304 under the hood has a Motorcraft 2100 with a worn out choke on it. Needless to say it runs like crap till its warmed up. Im currently a master student at Texas A&M so I wont be doing the cam and exhaust until I get my own place. I plan on changing the cam and exhaust eventually though. My question is what carb should I go with in the meantime? Im thinking just a stock replacement for my current 2100 (1.08 Venturi size I think). The Jeep is a 73 and the egr was disabled when I acquired the vehicles. What do yall think in terms of the right carb/cfm combo? Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 02-17-2020, 12:03 PM
Matt1981CJ7
Web Wheeler

1981 CJ7 

If you truly do plan to upgrade the cam and exhaust at some point, you might as well upgrade to a 4-bbl intake at that time, too. In which case, I'd just throw a cheap rebuilt 2100 back on there for now, then upgrade to a 4-bbl, or FI, when you rebuild the engine.

Matt
Shawn Watson likes this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 9 Old 02-17-2020, 10:30 PM
RedNeckCorvette
1979 CJ7 

I run a Holley 470 truck avenger on my 304 CJ7 easy to set up and works well on side hills, better than anything else I ran in the past on my jeep.
Many of these guys [from what I understand] like to run a 4 bbl. Rochester Quadrajet, I found them to be a pain to set up personally, but each to there own.

post #4 of 9 Old 02-19-2020, 06:03 AM
jeepdaddy2000

1971 CJ5 

Quote: