81 CJ5 Battery keeps dying - JeepForum.com
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 09-20-2021, 09:44 AM Thread Starter
TheFlynn01

1981 CJ5 

Garage
Cj 81 CJ5 Battery keeps dying

Hello everyone! Back again with another gremlin that I need help squashing!

My battery keeps calling it quits. It will be fine after a jump but has recently started dying. Got a new one, and parked for a few days and same end. I did the negative lead test and it has a draw of around 1.20 I am not an electrician, so all of this is Greek to me, I have been stumbling with some YouTube videos and trying to find good info. I went and found the fuse box under the dash on the driver side and I pulled all of them, with the exception of the larger metal covered ones, as I was not sure if I can pull them or not. The drain did not drop.

Now the good news is: I know I dont know what I am doing, so there is room for plenty of user error. I have come here many times for help and you guys have always came through, so I am here again needed some help!

Thanks!

Mike

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 09-20-2021, 10:10 AM
Ken4444
Corripe Cervisiam

1985 CJ7 

When you mention the "larger metal covered ones", are those round and silver? If so, those are the flasher modules.

In general, it sounds like you're getting 1.2 amps of current draw between the negative battery post and the negative cable, even when all of the fuses are removed. That means something is drawing power outside of the factory electrical system (which all goes through the fuse panel), which is why the battery is dying. I would look for non-standard electrical connections from the positive side of the battery, trace those wires, and see what could be shorting or running (for example aftermarket radio, lights, winch, anything really)

"I give you a republic, if you can keep it." - Benjamin Franklin
post #3 of 21 Old 09-20-2021, 11:00 AM
JEEPFELLER

1977 CJ5 

Garage
No results with the above?