3Likes
  • 1 Post By oldschool74cj5
  • 1 Post By JoonHoss
  • 1 Post By Cutlass327

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 03-29-2020, 06:27 PM Thread Starter
paintedfly

78 CJ7 Shackle Question

I finished putting the front end back together, ( added some degree shims ) and pulled it out of the garage and noticed that the 2 front shackles are in different positions, I'm new to the whole jeep thing but I'm assuming that there not supposed to look like this ? What causes this and how do I fix it ? Thanks

Attached Thumbnails
left side.jpg   Right side.jpg  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 03-29-2020, 06:29 PM
JoonHoss

2011 JK Wrangler 

Did you do the passenger side last (did you Jack up one side at a time?)

Hoss

Good judgement comes from experience; experience comes from bad judgement
post #3 of 11 Old 03-29-2020, 08:45 PM Thread Starter
paintedfly

Joon Hoss,
No I had the front end block up just behind the shackle mounts, I put both sides together while on jack stands and then let it down.

post #4 of 11 Old 03-29-2020, 09:06 PM
oldschool74cj5

hello

a couple of quick questions.
1) when adding the shims did you remove the center bolt on the leaf spring then add the shim under the head of the center bolt. this way the center bolt still goes into the locating hole on the axle. when removing the center bolt make sure you install a c-clamp tightly on each side of the centering bolt on the spring.
2) did you get the bolt into the locating hole on the axle. its not that hard to get it in one of the pockets in the cast perch.
3) did you put the jeep on the ground before you tighten everything up. the shackles, u-bolts and so on. that can make some difference.

oldschool
JoonHoss likes this.
post #5 of 11 Old 03-29-2020, 09:53 PM Thread Starter
paintedfly

oldschool74cj5,