76 cj7 1 ton sbc350 build - JeepForum.com
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 03-09-2019, 11:44 PM Thread Starter
CrimsonBoat

76 cj7 1 ton sbc350 build

Hey everyone, so I am currently in the process of doing my 1 ton axle swap on my cj7 I got last October. I figured it would be good to catalog my progress so that others could get ideas if they are thinking of doing a 1 ton swap and also so I can get some more experience with some of the more technical challenges of the task. So, some background. This is my first big project jeep. I owned an 01 Grand Cherokee that I lifted and put 35s on and did some work on here and there but nothing huge. So needless to say I am pretty new at this big swap project type of stuff so have some grace with me. Ended up trading the grand for this 76 cj7 that had a chevy 350/turbo 400 swapped, dana 300, 38.5 tsl's, dana 44 front with arb, and amc 20 rear with Detroit. Here are some pictures of my old grand and the cj7 when I first picked her up.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 03-10-2019, 12:01 AM Thread Starter
CrimsonBoat

After owning her for just over a week I decided to commence the 1 ton swap. After all, I traded in order to get something that could be more easily used to swap 1 tons into. I had a 14 bolt that I had pulled from the junkyard and was in search of a GM kp60 that i eventually found. So i began tearing into her and found that the tub had a lot more rust than I had originally thought and it would need to be addressed. Luckily my family owns a media blaster so that will make stripping the tub a whole lot easier. I began by pulling the interior out and removing the hard top and the cage. Then I pulled the front and rear axles, exhaust, front clip, lights, winch, windshield, dash, pedals, and everything else that was on the tub in prep for the blasting.

post #3 of 18 Old 03-10-2019, 07:57 AM
Matt1981CJ7
Web Wheeler

1981 CJ7