1980 CJ transmission question - JeepForum.com
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By BagusJeep

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-29-2020, 08:55 PM Thread Starter
Jimmyj1957

1980 CJ transmission question

The transmission on my 80 CJ slips out of gear (mostly2nd) and if I try to accelerate to 55mph I can hear the engine revving but it feels like the transmission is slipping and getting to 55 takes longer than it should. The VIN says it was built with a 4 speed manual transmission and a 6 cylinder engine. Somewhere along the line it was replaced with an AMC 304 V8. The guy I bought it from said it was a 304. I'm no expert on engines and certainly not AMC engines. Its clearly a V8. The numbers on the transmission indicate it's a SR4. My original plan was to have the transmission rebuilt. While researching the issue I'm seeing a lot of comments on the internet that a V8 and the SR4 are not a good match. Is this correct? I wasn't planning on replacing the transmission, however if there is a better more reliable transmission for this engine I'd be willing to consider it. I don't plan on doing any serious offloading with this vehicle, just a weekend driver with an occasional trip to the beach. Anybody familiar with this situation?
Thanks
Jim

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 01-29-2020, 10:43 PM
pedal2themetai
1956 CJ5 

HI, Manuel transmission don't slip but the clutch can ... put it in 2 give it some gas and try and start out if the motor revs and the jeep doesn't really move then its the clutch or set the park brake and again if the motor revs the clutch is bad.. a good clutch would kill the motor..
good luck
tim
post #3 of 11 Old 01-29-2020, 11:54 PM
BagusJeep
Web Wheeler

1981 CJ7 

If you look on the side of the engine you will see 304 in raised numbers, if it is an AMC304.