WK Cluster**** - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 08-21-2019, 09:55 AM Thread Starter
hem1
Registered User
 
hem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
WK Cluster Issues

Hi Jeep Forum!

I'm a brand-spanking new WK owner - 2010 5.7L with 130k miles. I have never had a Chrysler product before, and so far I am impressed. There's a few odds and ends I want to sort out and was hoping to gain some collective knowledge.

My speedo stopped working - needle points to the floor. The coolant temp is also hit and miss. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

My shop said I have to replace the cluster (or get a guy to fix it, which will cost more). I found a replacement cluster for a reasonable price, but it was from a 6-cylinder WK from 2009. Considering I have a totally different motor, can I still use that cluster?

Thank you so much in advance for your help!


Last edited by hem1; 08-21-2019 at 11:19 AM. Reason: Rules
hem1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 08-21-2019, 07:32 PM
badgerwithhands
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 695
Garage
What are you doing with your bad one? I'll take it. I'm experimenting with my gauge cluster and want an 08-10 to play with.

07 WK Overland CRD, cargo LEDs, OME HD, MOPAR skids, rack,
future mods: tires, lights, CB, skids,
badgerwithhands is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 08-25-2019, 11:38 PM Thread Starter
hem1
Registered User
 
hem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
Is your cluster having any issues? Is your LED display green or white? I don't mind parting with my current one, but I haven't yet found a working cluster that will function 100% =)
hem1 is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 Old 08-26-2019, 12:29 PM
badgerwithhands
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 695
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by hem1 View Post
Is your cluster having any issues? Is your LED display green or white? I don't mind parting with my current one, but I haven't yet found a working cluster that will function 100% =)
No mine is fine, it's an '07 so its green. I wanted to see about swapping white in

07 WK Overland CRD, cargo LEDs, OME HD, MOPAR skids, rack,
future mods: tires, lights, CB, skids,
badgerwithhands is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-26-2019, 02:08 PM Thread Starter
hem1
Registered User
 
hem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
Does your engine size matter? 6 or 8 cyl? Or it will work regardless?
hem1 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-27-2019, 07:09 AM
badgerwithhands
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 695
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by hem1 View Post
Does your engine size matter? 6 or 8 cyl? Or it will work regardless?
Mine is a diesel. I don't anticipate it being an issue, could be wrong. But I would butcher it if it doesn't plug and play. I'm getting the idea you want to swap with me, I'm not for that. I know mine works. But if you're trying to see if a junkyard cluster works, that's an idea.

07 WK Overland CRD, cargo LEDs, OME HD, MOPAR skids, rack,
future mods: tires, lights, CB, skids,
badgerwithhands is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-27-2019, 09:43 PM
underscore
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 1,841
From my understanding the cluster and the ECU both store the odometer reading, and if they don't match it will throw a code. I'm assuming it's not too difficult to fix but it's something to watch for.

07 WK CRD//QDII//OME MD//OMG WTF BBQ [daily]
91 Celica GTFour RC [for sale]
underscore is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-28-2019, 01:24 AM Thread Starter
hem1
Registered User
 
hem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 10
Yikes! Thank you for that bit of wisdom. So I guess by saving mine, I avoid more problems.

I took apart the center console today on a hunch, thinking the ground wire by the shifter was messed up. I was totally wrong. I also looked through the engine bay at any ground wire I can easily get my hands on, and the only one that looked a little worn was the flat ground strap that is designed not to interfere with the radio signal (the one onto the firewall on passenger side).

Grounds are fine!! It must be the cluster itself. I literally drove off the lot with the truck right in time for this issue to come up.
hem1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome