What years will fit? - JeepForum.com
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 03-29-2020, 12:33 PM Thread Starter
WallyDog1

2005 TJ Wrangler 

What years will fit?

Hi all I'm new to the WK forums been spending my time in the Wrangler forums. I have a 91 YJ and just added a 2008 Grand Cherokee Limited to the fleet. I bought it for $300.00 and needless to say the Cherokee needs some help. The first issue is the engine. The guy drove it till it stopped. No water or oil in it...So I'm after a used engine for starters. Can you guys tell me what years will fit and from what I've read about swaps so far the chassis # has something to do with choosing the right one.
ALSO it looks like a bear of a job?
Thanks!!

From the Smoky Mountains of Western North Carolina
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 03-29-2020, 01:37 PM
Alex_

Well in 2008 they upgraded the engine as you can see here; It is a pretty big job to remove the engine and put in a new one, almost everything on the engine bay has to come out, also disconnect the engine from the transmission, have a engine jack to remove the old engine put the new one, unless you got the tools and some help I would not recommend it doing it yourself.

In here you can search all the salvage yards in USA as far as I understand its a national salvage yard sale, look for an engine there thats close to you or that they can ship to you.

The other way is to get a reman engine it is pricey tho..

Most importantly are you sure the engine is shot? did you do a test on the jeep with a scanner on it or took it someone to have it check?; maybe you don't need a new engine but replace some components as long as the cylinder heads and the block are not cracked.
post #3 of 23 Old 03-29-2020, 01:52 PM
underscore
2007 WK 

Most importantly, what engine does it have now?

07 WK CRD//QDII//OME MD//MALONE 1.5//OMG WTF BBQ

post #4 of 23 Old 03-29-2020, 06:12 PM Thread Starter
WallyDog1

2005 TJ Wrangler 

Quote: