parking brake help! - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-07-2017, 06:03 AM Thread Starter
nerk
2008 WK 

parking brake help!

This is my first time attempting to replace the parking brake and holy crap what have I got myself into...

I finally managed to get all the springs and clips in place on my drivers side, so decided to give it a test and cranked up the hand brake...

Only to find out the cable wasn't attached to anything, so now its stuck in the little hole and I can seem to find a way to grab it with pliers or anything and pull it back through...

I read on the forum somewhere the leveler is under the back seat,.. so i managed to get the back seat out yesterday and found it... and the thing was all lob sided so I unhooked both cables, but can't push the cable through from that end either....

I'm at a stand still on this brake job from hell...

other things that have gone wrong:
  • 3 out of 4 rotors were seized on: took lots hammering and WD40 soaked overnight before they could be free'd.
  • caliper bolt on the passenger front was seized in the pin and snapped, new bolts and pins, front and back ordered with rubber boots
  • caliper pin on the driver side is stuck in the bracket, new bracket ordered

Thanks,

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 09-07-2017, 03:15 PM
DukeLucan

If you cannot get hold of the end of the brake cable (long-nose pliers?) then you might need to take the half-shaft out complete with hub, backing plate, and brake cable and sort it all out. The handbrake cable will need releasing at the front end, and the anti-roll bar must be released from the axle to free it - they don't make it easy.