Need help with valve stem seal replacement 5.7L - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 10-08-2019, 11:15 AM Thread Starter
cef911f1
2008 WK 

Garage
Need help with valve stem seal replacement 5.7L

OK guys, I need some advice. I'm not a professional mechanic but I've been wrenching on my own cars as well as those belonging to friends for over 50 years. I am, however, a retired mechanical engineer with 35 years of experience in the auto industry. As a retirement hobby, I have built and outfitted my own shop where I restore old cars for fun. I have more tools than the average guy and probably more than many pros.

So here's my problem. I have several leaking valve stem seals as well as leaking gaskets allowing oil into the sparkplug wells. I have the FSM for this vehicle and at present, have removed the one sparkplug from each cylinder, removed bank 1 valve cover, both rocker arms and have successfully replaced the intake valve seal on cylinder 1. I first tried to use compressed air to hold the valves up while I did this but even though I'm confident that my airline was fully screwed into the spark plug hole, I could hear air leaking so I decided not to trust that method and reverted to the old school rope trick. That worked great for the intake. However, once I freed the keeper on the exhaust valve I found that the rope hadn't locked up the valve. It has about a half-inch of travel and I can's seem to keep it from falling down so I can't compress teh spring enough to replace the keepers. I've tried to remove and reinsert the rope numerous times with the same result. I've gone back and tried to use the compressed air method but that won't hold the valve up either. (I put an o-ring on teh valve stem to keep it from falling while I applied the air. With 30 PSI applied, I can easily push the valve open.)

I'm struggling to come up with any new ideas. Any suggestions would be appreciated.