My 2008 WK CRD started by it's self !! - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-17-2021, 10:36 PM Thread Starter
Roadcracks

2008 WK 

Garage
My 2008 WK CRD started by it's self !!

Hello, I'm new to Jeeps [just bought a 2008 WK CRD] as well as this forum.
This is what happened today. I drove from my house to town about 30 miles. Did a bit of shopping and drove home. Nothing abnormal happened, I did pass a few slow moving cars so I went from 45 mph to 85 mph in a hurry and then cruised at 70 for a few more miles. I arrived home unloaded the groceries, moved the Grand Cherokee to it's parking space and turned it off, took out the key put it in my pocket. I believe you cannot take the key out unless the engine is turned off. I then went into my machine shop to clean up. About 30 minutes later walked over to my house and realized the rig was running. The doors were locked and it was idling normally. I unlocked it, put key into slot and message came up 'turn key to on' might have also said 'do not start engine' but I cannot remember exactly, I was a bit flustered. I then turned the key to off the engine stopped. I restarted it again right away. Left it running for a couple of minutes and then shut it off. The vehicle does NOT have remote start at least there is no key for a remote and nothing to indicate that it does have a remote. Could it have run a DPF regen by it's self ??
Just start itself while no one was watching !!! How about a glitch or fault in the ignition switch. Seems to me there might have been a recall on ignition switch in 2008.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks Peter

Happiness makes up in height what it lacks in length. Robert Frost American Poet.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 09-18-2021, 05:43 AM
Gray203m
2008 WK 

Garage
Does your key look like this? That circle icon is the remote start button. There's also a module that can be purchased that enables factory remote start by pressing the lock button 3 times.