Moving From a ZJ to a WK - What Can I Expect - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-24-2021, 10:12 PM Thread Starter
mclovin_3569
1997 ZJ 

Moving From a ZJ to a WK - What Can I Expect

Hi All,
I've been driving a '97 ZJ around for the past 15 years and have been overall very satisfied. I've used my Jeep as a daily driver for the family. It's been a great car for the occasional "moving stuff" around and hauling a trailer from time to time. I haven't done much off-road driving in it but sure appreciate the 4WD in the snow and rain. I'm currently at 254K miles and feeling it. I think it's time to get another.

I'm looking into buying a '05 WK Limited that has a 5.7L with MDS. The odometer is at 41K miles, has 1 owner, and plenty of service records. What can I expect as good/bad with a WK? They don't have the best reputations from what I've read but I don't really know. Is there anything in particular with WKs that I should be checking for or expecting to happen?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 07-25-2021, 08:09 AM
road_tripper

If your ZJ is unmodified and mostly use 2WD, you will be shocked by the fuel consumption. I have a 2005 4.7L and thought it was a bit thirsty. Just bought a low miles 2008 with the 5.7 Hemi, looked at the EPA numbers, only about 1mpg worse fuel consumption. Lordy that engine uses fuel! Fuelly is not kidding with the 14mpg long-term mpg. EPA numbers are likely achievable with max 55mph highway driving.

Do a web search for Hemi Tick...
post #3 of 7 Old 07-25-2021, 09:12 AM
90grandoneer
90grandoneer

2006 WK