"Hidden" remote start on my 2008 Grand Cherokee not working anymore - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 11-08-2019, 08:40 PM Thread Starter
JeffSearls
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
"Hidden" remote start on my 2008 Grand Cherokee not working anymore

I'm looking for a little direction here. My stock "hidden" remote start isn't working anymore. It was working fine, then one day, nothing. No new work was done on the vehicle. All the threads say to check the hood position plunger switch, but my Jeep doesn't have one. I can NOT find the cause of the remote start not working. Any ideas?

JeffSearls is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 11-09-2019, 01:36 AM
underscore
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 1,881
Low fuel or a CEL will cause it to not work. There is a hood switch on all WKs if my memory serves, I've never noticed one either so it must be tucked away a bit.

07 WK CRD//QDII//OME MD//OMG WTF BBQ [daily]
91 Celica GTFour RC [for sale]
underscore is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 11-09-2019, 05:58 AM Thread Starter
JeffSearls
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Thanks for those ideas but I have over half a tank of fuel and no CEL. I read somewhere that the hood safety switch is built into the hood latch, but there is only the cable going into the latch, no wiring. I'm going crazy here! Lol!
JeffSearls is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 Old 11-09-2019, 09:47 AM
Rtbrjason
Registered User
 
Rtbrjason's Avatar
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Rochester
Posts: 265
My 08 has the hood switch by the driver side fender, around the half way point. Possible it got dislodged and is dangling down somewhere?
Rtbrjason is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 11-09-2019, 11:31 AM Thread Starter
JeffSearls
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Thanks for that! When you said halfway down, by the fender..... is it along the hood rail by the fender? Is it a plunger switch?
JeffSearls is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 11-09-2019, 11:38 AM
Rtbrjason
Registered User
 
Rtbrjason's Avatar
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Rochester
Posts: 265
Yes to both. Closer to the battery.



Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffSearls View Post
Thanks for that! When you said halfway down, by the fender..... is it along the hood rail by the fender? Is it a plunger switch?
Attached Thumbnails
6DA82E54-5298-4750-A228-985520F9E6D8_1573321088191.jpg  
Rtbrjason is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 11-12-2019, 11:45 AM
Xmind
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 146
Interesting. Is this something for just 2008 or was it on certain trims like the Overland or something? Not OP, but my 2007 Laredo definitely doesn't have this.

'07 GC CRD QDII, EHM, GDE ECO, DPF & intake rez delete, Paramount Perf Valve Body
Xmind is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 11-13-2019, 10:02 AM Thread Starter
JeffSearls
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
The 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee has a factory remote start built into the remote. If you press the Lock button 3x followed by the Unlock button 3x, the Jeep starts. Mine doesn't do that anymore. All the threads say to check the fuel level, Check Engine Light and the hood position switch because if there is a problem with any of these things, the Jeep won't start. I have a full tank of fuel, NO CEL on and I can't find the hood position switch. But,..... Now that my upper ball joint broke on Sunday while I was driving, my remote start is the last of my worries!!
JeffSearls is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 11-13-2019, 10:04 AM Thread Starter
JeffSearls
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Thanks for the photo....... I definately do NOT have a button like that under my hood!
JeffSearls is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 11-13-2019, 10:04 AM
Rtbrjason
Registered User
 
Rtbrjason's Avatar
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Rochester
Posts: 265
My remote has an actual start button. Before the ignition recall, you pushed it twice to start. After the recall I seem to have to push it twice, pause and then twice again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffSearls View Post
The 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee has a factory remote start built into the remote. If you press the Lock button 3x followed by the Unlock button 3x, the Jeep starts. Mine doesn't do that anymore. All the threads say to check the fuel level, Check Engine Light and the hood position switch because if there is a problem with any of these things, the Jeep won't start. I have a full tank of fuel, NO CEL on and I can't find the hood position switch. But,..... Now that my upper ball joint broke on Sunday while I was driving, my remote start is the last of my worries!!
Rtbrjason is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 11-14-2019, 01:47 PM
Grinmaul
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: scarborough
Posts: 105
My 08 has the factory remote start, its own button on the Mercedes style key you press twice to start, and has the hood switch pictured above.


that press unlock and lock 3 times sounds like an aftermarket unit install that is wired in to look for that sequence of lock presses to trigger, never heard of a factory unit like that, maybe a dealer install aftermarket unit?

2008.5 WK CRD, 2005 WK Limited 5.7
Grinmaul is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 11-15-2019, 01:00 AM
2007laredowk
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 62
Heard that lock/unlock combo before, it's an aftermarket unit, if you do some digging you will probably find the manufacturer. Factory remote starts, in general, have a dedicated button in the key fob with the circled arrow.
2007laredowk is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 11-15-2019, 02:49 PM
underscore
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 1,881
There is a dealer-installed remote start module that uses the standard fob and a combo of button presses but if I remember right the sequence is different from that.

07 WK CRD//QDII//OME MD//OMG WTF BBQ [daily]
91 Celica GTFour RC [for sale]
underscore is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 11-16-2019, 02:29 AM
2007laredowk
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by underscore View Post
dealer-installed remote start module that uses the standard fob and a combo of button presses.
Didn't know about those, the ones I've seen offered as a Mopar accessory come with updated fobs with the dedicated circled arrow button.
2007laredowk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome