Changing tire pressure sensors how to make TPMS read spare and get rid of message - JeepForum.com
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By yzjwk
  • 1 Post By Wrangie
  • 1 Post By Wrangie
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 12-10-2019, 08:54 PM Thread Starter
Wrangie
Registered User
 
Wrangie's Avatar
2008  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 36
Changing tire pressure sensors how to make TPMS read spare and get rid of message

Folk's
I ve changed all the 5 wheels sensors, programmed their id's to the WCM with success but i still have the "spare low pressure" message despite is fine.


4 tires are displayed with 248 bar but the spare show 0 pressure.


Make it 40 psi or rotate it few degrees to get it closer to the transceiver won t start it


I allready drive it for more than 200 miles


What s the trick here?


Cheers

Wrangie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 12-10-2019, 09:12 PM
CommanderRandy
Registered User
2007 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 34
Reading with interest... I have one reading zero (left rear) and I'm not sure what to do.....

Previous Jeeps: 89 YJ, 92 YJ, 99 XJ, 98 XJ
Current Jeep: 07 XK Commander limited w/HEMI
CommanderRandy is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 12-11-2019, 07:37 AM
yzjwk
Registered User
 
yzjwk's Avatar
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrangie View Post
Folk's
I ve changed all the 5 wheels sensors, programmed their id's to the WCM with success but i still have the "spare low pressure" message despite is fine.


4 tires are displayed with 248 bar but the spare show 0 pressure.


Make it 40 psi or rotate it few degrees to get it closer to the transceiver won t start it


I allready drive it for more than 200 miles


What s the trick here?


Cheers
You could try swapping the spare with one of the rear tires. Since they are all new, It may need to be rotated in so the WCM sees a valid tire at that address. If the problem follows the tire and you get a failed reading then the problem should be a faulty sensor. If the known good tire goes into alarm as the spare then you have a programming or receiver issue.
Wrangie likes this.

5 and counting :05 WK 5.7 HEMI
90 YJ Islander 4.2L
94 ZJ Ltd 5.2 ,00 WJ 4.0
2010 MK Patriot
yzjwk is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 Old 12-11-2019, 10:11 AM
90grandoneer
Moderator
 
90grandoneer's Avatar
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: City of Trees
Posts: 3,776
X2, yzjwk. Also, if you have all the ID's written down, verify that one is actually correct and not one letter/number off or transposed.

06 GCO, Dk Khaki, QDII, Flshing Hi 3rd Bk Lt, MDS "ON" Lt, Airtab Vortex Gens, Debadged, Fumoto Drain Valve, BT Catch Can, Chopped EGR Tube, SRT8 CAI, AFE Air Filter, Sonnax Trans Line Press Booster, SC Tuner W/Adv Trans Tune App, DS and HP tuners, Transgo Shift Kit, ARH Long Tube Hdrs w/3 in Magnaflow/Xlerator AP Exh Sys, Bilsteins, SRT Springs/Sways, Cust Eng Cvr, SRT8 frt/rear bumpers, FRI Sidewinder Cam w/6* advance/6.1 valvetrain, SLP 25% UD Pulley, BBK true 90mm T-Body, SOS Ign Coils w/.060 spark plug gaps, TEA ported/milled heads w/new valve seats, SRT Reps with 265/45&295/40X20's. Also 05 Hemi LX modded exactly like WK and Comp Cammed 06 300CSRT8.
90grandoneer is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 12-11-2019, 12:42 PM
Capital AL
Registered User
2010 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 16
Garage
I recently changed my all my TPMS sensors and the light would not go away after weeks of driving. The tire shop said that Jeeps and Chrysler vehicles reset themselves when new sensors are installed but that is not the case. The tire shop had to hook up their scan tool and manually program in the sensors with the computer after that it was working properly.
Capital AL is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 12-11-2019, 03:16 PM
Avs
Registered User
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 90
Any way of turning off the tpms? The previous owner got rid of the tpms sensors and I have no interest of putting 4 new ones in. Iím sick of seeing seeing the low pressure message on the gauge cluster. I do have access to a bidirectional scanner.
Avs is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 12-12-2019, 12:15 PM Thread Starter
Wrangie
Registered User
 
Wrangie's Avatar
2008  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by yzjwk View Post
You could try swapping the spare with one of the rear tires. Since they are all new, It may need to be rotated in so the WCM sees a valid tire at that address.
So this is it
Thumbs up
Wrangie is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 12-12-2019, 08:22 PM Thread Starter
Wrangie
Registered User
 
Wrangie's Avatar
2008  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 36
But later now i got "service pressure system" .
No current DTC
Pressure fine, WCN and CCN data showing tire 1 - driver side - pressure 248.1-255.1 (osclilating front- rear) & status "normal", tire 2 -passenger side-(same values) and tire 3 spare - status "normal".
What is wrong with the system now?
Wrangie is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 12-12-2019, 09:01 PM
90grandoneer
Moderator
 
90grandoneer's Avatar
2006 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: City of Trees
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avs View Post
Any way of turning off the tpms? The previous owner got rid of the tpms sensors and I have no interest of putting 4 new ones in. Iím sick of seeing seeing the low pressure message on the gauge cluster. I do have access to a bidirectional scanner.
It may have that capability but, for sure you can do it with an HP Tuner. It's not worth the price of the tuner though if that's all you're planning to do.

06 GCO, Dk Khaki, QDII, Flshing Hi 3rd Bk Lt, MDS "ON" Lt, Airtab Vortex Gens, Debadged, Fumoto Drain Valve, BT Catch Can, Chopped EGR Tube, SRT8 CAI, AFE Air Filter, Sonnax Trans Line Press Booster, SC Tuner W/Adv Trans Tune App, DS and HP tuners, Transgo Shift Kit, ARH Long Tube Hdrs w/3 in Magnaflow/Xlerator AP Exh Sys, Bilsteins, SRT Springs/Sways, Cust Eng Cvr, SRT8 frt/rear bumpers, FRI Sidewinder Cam w/6* advance/6.1 valvetrain, SLP 25% UD Pulley, BBK true 90mm T-Body, SOS Ign Coils w/.060 spark plug gaps, TEA ported/milled heads w/new valve seats, SRT Reps with 265/45&295/40X20's. Also 05 Hemi LX modded exactly like WK and Comp Cammed 06 300CSRT8.
90grandoneer is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 12-13-2019, 04:05 AM
RoyalHawk
Registered User
2010 WK 
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 64
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrangie View Post
But later now i got "service pressure system" .
No current DTC
Pressure fine, WCN and CCN data showing tire 1 - driver side - pressure 248.1-255.1 (osclilating front- rear) & status "normal", tire 2 -passenger side-(same values) and tire 3 spare - status "normal".
What is wrong with the system now?
My experience (2010 S-Limited): Last summer I destroyed the rear wheel and the relevant TPMS sensor. Used the spare tire for a while (couple of week) , until the new sensor was arriving at home (I bought a commercial sensor).
When the sensor arrived, it was installed on the new tire and remounted in the same position of the old one. Drove the car for several km, thinking that the system will realign itself. (some years ago it worked like this with an OEM sensor)
After some days, I saw that the new sensor was still not detected. With the Witech and Micropod II, I "confirmed" (it was already present and in the right place) the new sensor ID.
From this point on, the sensor was detected and working well. After some days, I got the "service pressure system" msg, but all the reading were fine. Reset the msg on the EVIC and, for a couple of weeks, it doesn't apperas anymore. After that, at regular intervals of about 10 days, I got the same msg for few seconds. Deflated and inflated again the wheel at right pressure, the msg desappered since a couple of months.

Marco - Location: Italy
2010 GC WH S-Limited 3.0 CRD
RoyalHawk is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 12-13-2019, 01:08 PM Thread Starter
Wrangie
Registered User
 
Wrangie's Avatar
2008  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 36
What pressure threshold do you use guys on 35's?
Updating to 40 psi scheme cleared the message, will see if it appears again
RoyalHawk likes this.
Wrangie is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 12-15-2019, 05:45 AM Thread Starter
Wrangie
Registered User
 
Wrangie's Avatar
2008  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 36
And...is back.
Since there are no DTC s but it keep showing, i was assuming that it s have to be something related with the pressure itself...any other thoughts guys?
Wrangie is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 12-15-2019, 06:07 PM
yzjwk
Registered User
 
yzjwk's Avatar
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrangie View Post
But later now i got "service pressure system" .
No current DTC
Pressure fine, WCN and CCN data showing tire 1 - driver side - pressure 248.1-255.1 (osclilating front- rear) & status "normal", tire 2 -passenger side-(same values) and tire 3 spare - status "normal".
What is wrong with the system now?
Sounds like you have the premium TPMS system that displays the pressure in the evic?
If so check the wiring and connections of the transceiver in the wheel well of the wheel youíre having issues with. If the wheel issue is with the one rear wheel without a transceiver then you might have a signal strength issue.

Did you happen to change rims too ?

5 and counting :05 WK 5.7 HEMI
90 YJ Islander 4.2L
94 ZJ Ltd 5.2 ,00 WJ 4.0
2010 MK Patriot
yzjwk is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 12-17-2019, 02:18 AM
RoyalHawk
Registered User
2010 WK 
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 64
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by yzjwk View Post
Sounds like you have the premium TPMS system that displays the pressure in the evic?
If so check the wiring and connections of the transceiver in the wheel well of the wheel youíre having issues with. If the wheel issue is with the one rear wheel without a transceiver then you might have a signal strength issue.

Did you happen to change rims too ?
were is located the transceiver ? Is it near the wheel ?

Marco - Location: Italy
2010 GC WH S-Limited 3.0 CRD
RoyalHawk is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 12-17-2019, 10:18 AM Thread Starter
Wrangie
Registered User
 
Wrangie's Avatar
2008  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 36
I currentlly don t have any DTC s so it can t be a wirring issue.
Also the transceivers are working fine
All 3 of them.
First is located on the front left , second to the front right, and 3 rd on the rear right.
So far i rewrite them on WCM but still have it.Change the pressure thresolds on almost all variant..still have it.
Then set the pressure down to 2 bar, got a code of low pressure for just 2 of them, make the pressure 2.5 and so far is fine for 2 days.
Fingers crossed XXX
RoyalHawk likes this.
Wrangie is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome