2008 WK tranny cooling lines replacement after action review - JeepForum.com
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Bob2008WK

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-18-2018, 12:04 AM Thread Starter
Bob2008WK
2008 WK 

2008 WK tranny cooling lines replacement after action review

So I just replaced my rusted out tranny cooling lines; I found several posts with questions, not so much answers, so here is my experience. Disclaimer; it worked for me, but I am not a mechanic. Proceed with caution at your own risk.
Supplies used: -New cooling lines, $96; (2) new tranny fittings, $20 / ea; (3) quarts Zerex G-05 antifreeze concentrate; (1) gallon distilled H2O; ~16 oz of ATF+4.
-Remove grill (6 push pins on top)
-Remove air box intake (removing air filter & depressing tab simplifies removal)
-Remove lower radiator hose from radiator & drain; approximately 6 quarts will be lost
-Remove upper radiator hose from radiator
(If you don't have a remote reach hose clamp tool, I recommend you invest in one; much easier to latch the tool to the clamp, then squeeze the pistol grip on the other end of the cable to release the clamp, and it holds the clamp open)
-Unplug the cooling fan, remove the (4) 10 MM bolts from the shroud, and lift the shroud & fan out the top.
-Remove the clips from the tranny cooling line quick release fittings at the cooler / condenser unit. I invested in the Lisle tool, there was so much corrosion it took a bit of effort to get the clips even lifted a bit, then I pried them off from the top with a scribe.
-Pull the fittings back out of the condenser / tranny cooler assembly. Note: mine were severely corroded in; I soaked them in PB blaster, tapped on the line, etc to loosen a couple times a day- it took 48 hrs to get any movement out of the top one, 72 before it came free; the bottom fitting took 96 hours to move, and 120 to come free. Patience is cheaper than damaging a cooler / condenser unit...