06 Grand Cherokee 5.7 Hemi to 2017 5.7 Hemi Swap - JeepForum.com
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 03-14-2019, 09:34 PM Thread Starter
KLK812
2006 WK 

06 Grand Cherokee 5.7 Hemi to 2017 5.7 Hemi Swap

Hey All. I'm new to Jeeps, hence my newness to the forum. My plan with this thread is to document my swap and see if I can extract any advice from others who have done this. Now, onto the story.

So, a few months back I saw a decently clean 06 GC Overland 5.7 hemi come up for sale for only $1000 a few miles from my house. It wasn't running, and I bought it with the understanding that it probably needed the engine rebuilt (or swapped) so I'll cut to the chase. READ FURTHER FOR THE LONG STORY, CUT TO THE NEXT PARAGRAPH FOR THE SHORT STORY. The infamous hemi intake cylinder valve seats bit this jeep (as I came to learn all about, since I had never touched a mopar before this). Unfortunately, after I pulled the engine I found out that it dropped valve seats on both banks, hence both heads were trashed. A local shop quoted me $300-400 per head to weld/recut the damage as well as the valve seats and mill the heads (since they were warped 6.5 thou). As for the block, a few of those valve seats grenaded and scuffed the cylinders, so it would need a bore over and hone. Only place in the area with a torque plate I found was up in Indianapolis, and the machine work was looking to reach nearly $1000 just for the block. Now considering all 8 oversized pistons, new bearings, seals, MDS delete, lifters, pushrods (did I mention this engine had 220k miles?) etc etc. My build list and cost was quickly adding up - but this was supposed to be a budget build! So I decided to start looking at other options.