Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Omg help me plz!!!

322 views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  Helen123 
#1 · (Edited)
I TRIED to get help here before and actually posted BUT I could NOT get back in to see anything..MY 2000 JEEP WRANGLER..4cyl Manual Jeepwill NOT pass smog due to CAT Monitor INCOMPLETE..I’ve spent 5MONTHS RUNNING between teh dealership and the BAR, Bureau Of AUTO REPAIR.. JEEP SAYS NO FIX AVAIL! BAR WILL NOT ALLOW A SECOND PASS as THE SAME PROCESS WENT DOWN 2 YEARS GO and STILLLL hEre I am.. I’m EXAUSTED and SOOOO Frustrated I just DONT KNOW what else I can do. Has ANYBODY ELSE HAD THIS “ experience” My TAGS were UP in NOV and STILL I don’t know what else I can do..PLZ PLZ HELP IF YOU KNOW ANYTHING OR CAN OFFER ANY ADVICE. I AM TRULY AT MY WITS END..ITS SHOCKING AND MY JEEP I JUST CANT DUMP! In case I can’t get back in again PLZZZZ HELP ME JEEPSTER PEOPLE

#2 ·
Look, I'm not a mechanic, but I know a little about engines. You need a mechanic to go over the Jeep. A problem like yours could have many causes, but the *most likely* boil down to 2: a partially or fully plugged catalytic converter, or a bad oxygen sensor.

Like I said, lots can go wrong to cause that code, but those are the most likely. Out of those two, the oxygen sensor is the cheapest to fix. A new catalytic converter is probably over a grand with labor. And if you do need a new one, they don't let you install an old one from the junkyard anymore, hell I don't even think it's legal now for a junkyard to sell a used cat.