which welder do I choose - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 06-28-2012, 01:30 AM Thread Starter
GenPatTuck
1996 XJ Cherokee 

which welder do I choose

I am a beginner welder and am trying to decide about which welder to buy. RIght now my choices are the power mig 140c from Lincoln or a similar harbor freight one.
Lincoln is a great name and they stand behind what they build. I know I wont have any problems with it. The 140c allows me to plug it into a standard 120 outlet. I dont plan on doing any major welding with it, just some small stuff in the garage. I know it has a longer work cable and clamp.
As for the HF welder, out of 21 reviews only two trashed it saying it only works sometimes and to get an extended warranty. It only has a 5 foot work cable and clamp. It spatters alot until you figure out the best settings. I have to install a 22O outlet as well, but its almost $400 cheaper.
What do you guys think? I am really swaying towards the Lincoln, I just need some input.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 06-28-2012, 04:20 AM
monkers
2010 JK Wrangler 

My opinion, so take it for what its worth lol, I would stay away from anything other than the established names, Lincoln, Miller, Hobart, they are all good and have been around for a while. Make sure before you buy, that you wont want to do heavier work later on. If you can get a 220v welder you can do small (thin) stuff with it, but you cant do thick stuff with the 110v machine. Good luck

2010 Rescue Green 2 Door 6 Spd, 2.5" RK Max Travel, Fox 2.0 IFP Shocks, 37" Nitto Trail Grappler M/T, EVO Sleeves, Gussets, Mini Skids, Rock Stars, Poly Perf Long Travel Upper Shock Mounts, Poison Spyder Evap Skid, Diff Covers, Grab Handles, Cobra 75WXSt, Stern Cibie/Osram Light Upgrade, Mopar Heated Seats, Trimmed Flares & Bumpers
post #3 of 9 Old 06-28-2012, 06:39 AM
Ironworker709

1995 YJ Wrangler