Errors plus incorrect temperature readings - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 09-13-2021, 07:37 PM Thread Starter
philbone

Errors plus incorrect temperature readings

I am a newbie here and hope that it is ok to post my problem in this thread... I think it is relevant.
Vehicle is a 2013 Jeep GC Laredo 5.7 Hemi
We have had plenty of the typical cooling issues with it in the past:
Leaky water pump, bad thermostats etc - all been fixed...

This one has me stumped. CEL came on and the engine temperature refuses to show anything above about 148 degrees, even though the engine is measuring about 200 with an IR temperature gauge. It threw the following...

P0128 code... Here is what I have done...
- Checked coolant for level and purity (replaced a year ago together with water pump)
- Checked thermostat using IR gauge; at about 160 the top hose starts to carry very hot coolant (Thermostat was also replaced a year ago with a Mopar OEM)
- Replaced ECT sensor (after testing resistance changes with heat / cold)
- Bled system and double checked bleed valve.

So the temperature gauge reads colder than it is, and the digital reading in the instrument cluster reads <100. It understand that it is always reading "cold" which is why it is triggering the error. Today it also threw P0118.

- I checked the wiring to the ECT sensor - one wire has 5v DC, the other I am not sure how to check back to the computer (I don't have a wiring diagram)

What else could it be?

Please help and THANK YOU !!!

Phil

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 09-13-2021, 08:55 PM
jtec

2014 JK Wrangler 

1st I gotta ask - jeep is STOCK - powertrain no BS programmers, chips, add on's modifications?

Start with the p0118* a issue with ECT sensor voltage. Trouble tree has the procedure.