Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Tire size question

3K views 46 replies 16 participants last post by  ThisIsM@tt 
#1 ·
I'm no tire expert, so hoping anyone can answer a basic question.

I picked up a 3 inch lift from IRO, and as soon as it arrives I will start the install.
I'm also going to invest in new tires.
What is best tires I can use for off-roading, without them rubbing on the walls.

Current rim size is 17 inches.

For example, current daily street tires are p235/65R17

I'm looking for off-road tires, so increase in size obviously & without them rubbing the walls.

Thank you guys for any input.

#4 ·
Hi, I have the IRO 3" lift too. I went with 245/70/17 BFGoodrich KO2 tyres, for an all terrain these a fairly aggresive and fit with no rubbing. I recently got a good deal on some 17" wheels and went with a set of Marshal/Kumho MT51 tyres, these are a mud tyre but not overly aggressive, again these fit with no rubbing. I had a good look at my car and decided that there was a good chance that a 265 wide tyre has a very good chance of rubbing on both the rear shocks and also the front bumper and probably rear fender/bumper when flexing - hence my choice on size. A 255 width tyre will probably work - but I know the 245's do. The 245/70/17 also fits in the spare wheel space.

There is a greater selection of tyres here (England) for 16" rims, but finding secondhand WJ wheels in 16" here proved difficult, and I was a little impatient! Ideally I think I would have gone with 245/75/16 if i could have got hold of some 16" wheels as I like a higher profile for offroading. Tyre rubbing any chassis parts/shocks/body part here is an inspection failure.

#12 ·
Thanks for the info. Truthfully, I didn't even consider the potential loss of performance when going up on tire size. Now I'm definitely going to have to consider 16 inch rims, especially since my WJ is a V6 4.0.

I can second Hampshire's comments about the rarity of decent condition 16" rims...