Is the steering, or me? - JeepForum.com
 11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 08-07-2020, 10:02 PM Thread Starter
DonVecinos

Question Is the steering, or me?

After all, the last six vehicles I have owned have all had rack-and-pinion steering.

Seriously, I think my new WJ is probably somewhat out of alignment, but since I am new to these vehicles (I have had one three days at this writing), I could use some input.

I feel like I am having to provide a bit too much input to keep it in a straight line or in a nice clean arc going around a corner. There is absolutely no vibration, shimmying nor noises out of the front end. It just seems to want to wander a bit, and I have to rein it in. I've considered the possibility the shocks are getting weak, but it rides too well. Steering stabilizer, perhaps? My only experience with one of those was on an air-cooled VW, and it shimmied like crazy when that went bad on it.

Any input would be helpful, and I'm sure I'll come up with some other newbie questions for your entertainment.

D. E. Neighbors
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 08-08-2020, 06:49 AM
CJREX

2004 WJ 

Start it up and have someone turn the steering wheel while you look at the trackbar bushings.

The frame side bushing on mine was shot but you could only see the slop in it while the wheels were being turned.

If you grabbed it and shook it it felt OK.

New bushings got rid of the play in the steering.

If yours has a lot of miles, you will probably need tie rod ends as well, maybe ball joints too.
DonVecinos likes this.

2004 GC Overland
4.7 HO 3874 FlashPaq and Kolak 3" exhaust
2" BDS lift
265/70/17 Patagonia MT
post #3 of 16 Old 08-08-2020, 08:11 AM
CJ7-Tim
Real Jeeps have dents

2000 XJ Cherokee