Staking 4.7l Valve Seats - JeepForum.com
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 05-27-2020, 04:31 PM Thread Starter
Jimmy2Ton
2004 WJ 

Staking 4.7l Valve Seats

Credits: First, I want to thank ct27gt for reminding me of a the industry term 'staking' based on my description. A term that I probably have not heard in 25 or 30 years :P I had used this technique on spindles and such way back when, but it never occured to me for this application.

Second credit goes to a guys on boobtube videos. Staking the valve seats was not my own idea. Heres to hoping it works

Work: I disassembled the engine, and cleaned much of it up. On inspection I have a high degree of confidence my head gaskets were not leaking, rather the oil consumption is from the intake. To be determined. I will explain why I dont have time for that later...

Anyway, I had no problem with servicing this engine @ 160k as I found numerous things that needed to be addressed, and considering the potential to drop a valve seat, TO ME its a no-brainer. Pay now, or later... Many of the pistons had a thick 0.5-1.0mm heavy crust. oil, not carbon. I included a pic. Unfortunately the piston visable was not one of the worst..

To stake the valve seats, I used a chisel point from an air hammer kit, and a 12oz hammer. the work was pretty straight forward.

A Tip: I recommend anyone doing this is to put your punch at a 90 degree angle to the area you are going to punch first. strike it a single time, reset the punch in the divit, and do it once more. Now that you have nice divit, you can turn your punch toward the valve seat without the punch slipping an bouncing around.

Unfortunately, I wont know if this works or blows up for quite some time. Probably late summer or early fall.