Need some help please, 2001 Grand Cherokee - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-27-2020, 07:22 AM Thread Starter
01978CJ5

Need some help please, 2001 Grand Cherokee

This is for my neighbor. I'm a pretty descent mechanic, but haven't worked on a grand cherokee before. She was driving down the highway when she lost a driveshaft strap and then you know the rest. ripped out the brake line on the way out. I've been trying to find parts. It needs the front axle pinion yoke, but noticed there a lot of them to choose from. How do you know what size splines and axle that you have? It also needs the slip yoke on the driveshaft, thinking it would be better to just buy a whole used front driveshaft in case it damaged the current shaft, thoughts?

Any help is greatly appreciated

Attached Thumbnails
yoke.jpg  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 02-27-2020, 07:59 AM
007matman

The front is a Dana 30. I'm guessing it has the 4.0 I-6 and the 242 TC, correct? Look inside at the 4wd shifter. If it has the option for 2WD as well as 4WD, it's a 242.

Is the yoke actually damaged? It's clear that the u-joints failed. What does the DS look like? If the yoke is not bent on the axle I wouldn't replace or remove it (as long as it's not leaking). Try removing the straps and let us know what you find.

The yoke isn't impossible to replace. However, I'm guessing you'll get stuck replacing the seal too if you remove it.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
post #3 of 8 Old 02-27-2020, 08:23 AM
jtec
Web Wheeler

2014 JK Wrangler 

As mentioned we need to determine which Transfer case you have -
go to link and a fast look will get you answers
http://www.wjjeeps.com/tcases.htm

I believe the junk yard will be best suited for finding the components -
don't throw anything away.

Post a picture of drive shaft and MAYBE we can get some more info to you.

When I see the price of OEM I think aftermarket.
When I see the quality of aftermarket I think OEM.