Loose steering system - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-27-2020, 11:43 AM Thread Starter
tonyskidawg

Garage
Loose steering system

Hey guys, fixing up a 2003 Grand Cherokee, it has 269K miles 4x4. I just got 4 matching good used tires, mounted balanced. Got rid of her death wobble at 45 mph, (right front had steel belts showing).
I took it up to 70 MPH on Interstate 40 in ABQ, NM. When I went to exit on Tramway, I noticed at high speed, she was over the road a little. When I got down to 45, I took the steering wheel, and can go left and right a little with no wheel (steering) response.
I am new to Jeep, I had an old Chevy truck that I tightened up the steering box years ago, lock nut, and adjuster bolt.

Is there anything similar on a 2003 Grand Cherokee, (WJ), is what I think is the acronym.

I understand tie rod ends and such, but before going off the deep end, I am requesting any advise, thank you.

Skidawg
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 05-29-2020, 07:39 PM Thread Starter
tonyskidawg

Garage
Wow! 93 Jeep reviews, and no response.
I will have to go the dealership.
And pay tooth and nail. I guess no one ever experienced a sloppy Jeep, steering system.
Either nobody has or they are just lazy. Semper Fi!
This is what I fought two wars for.
Idle silence. I would go back to the USMC in a heart beat.

Skidawg
post #3 of 6 Old 05-29-2020, 08:03 PM
gutthans

1995 YJ Wrangler 

Garage
You didn't put this into the WJ forum...so maybe that's why? Not so sure we're crawling with WJ moderators...lots of people won't answer until they have it definitive, or have direct experience...I'm not a mod so I can't move it to the right forum...and yeah, I've adjusted my units, but nothing newer than a 2000.

post #4 of 6 Old 05-29-2020, 09:35 PM
Kruzin
Web Wheeler

2009 JK Wrangler 

gutthans is right, you would get a better response if you posted in the WJ tech forum. This is the tires and wheel forum.