Lifting, trimming/spacing setup help - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-27-2020, 07:15 AM Thread Starter
Sjmoore

Lifting, trimming/spacing setup help

I used to have a 98 Jeep Grand I bought already built with 32 11.50’s and a 4” lift. I loved it so much. In looking for a nice older one with low miles I finally gave up and am getting a WJ 2004, which is actually cool because it has life features. My question is with a 2-3” lift how tall of tires can I go and what options do I have for spacing and trimming? I don’t want to make it too tall, but I don’t see the point in lifting if I can’t fit 31” up to the 285 or 275/75/16 size. I know there’s been this question before but I would replace trim bumpers etc. I’m new to this so any help is greatly appreciated. Not sure what size it will have tires stock but my 2014 I’m selling has 245/70/16 and they’re too small.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 02-27-2020, 07:17 AM Thread Starter
Sjmoore

There’s an autocorrect mishap in there lol but I don’t know how to edit. Thanks guys
post #3 of 7 Old 02-27-2020, 09:26 AM Thread Starter
Sjmoore

And will a 4” lift work? I’ve heard mixed reviews that they cause problems while others say they don’t... I’m aware of the all wheel drive V8 models so I’m looking at true 4x4 v6 models only

post #4 of 7 Old 02-27-2020, 12:08 PM
smokeyyank

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sjmoore View Post
And will a 4 lift work? Ive heard mixed reviews that they cause problems while others say they dont... Im aware of the all wheel drive V8 models so Im looking at true 4x4 v6 models only
No V6 WJs.......

You don't need 4" lift to clear. I need to trim a little on the front bottom rocker but that was it. 3" is the max to effectively run stock arms above that you need adjustables and just better off going with long arms.

This is my junk 3" on 32ish

04 WJ, 4.7HO
3" IRO lift, fastman TB, 32s, lunchbox rear 242HD, 3" exhaust
post #5 of 7 Old 02-27-2020, 10:21 PM
Bigrigr