1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 20 Old 10-17-2020, 06:14 PM Thread Starter
GmanWJ

2002 WJ 

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by WJ60 View Post
A 1/2" difference in a vehicle that heavy should have no consequences, but then again, I'm not an engineer either. Lol. I once owned a truck that showed numbers like yours and it ended up being the frame. I'm interested in seeing what you come up with.
Yeah well ... I hesitate to admit this but I AM an engineer! Engineering is sort of the science of getting it close enough to do it's job, so I really don't care about a 1/2" difference if it works. But that is the problem: the performance is not acceptable, so we chase the obvious issues first.

I swapped the springs today, both ends. No measurements because I am tired, but first test drive was good. Will see if it holds up.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ok mostly just repairs, but we are closing in on a lift
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #17 of 20 Old 10-17-2020, 06:26 PM Thread Starter
GmanWJ

2002 WJ 

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattyjm View Post
The "A" coils go on the driver side. I remember comparing the rear coils also but can't remember whether mine were labeled or not. I know when my lift was all said and done, my 2002 was pretty level all around, so I knew I had it right. Clocking the springs properly is also very important to the install. I added new isolators during my lift and just double checked everything along the way. I hope this helps you in some way and good luck!
Front coils have A/B stickers, rear do not. I had front B on the left side, A on the right, so I swapped them. Then I swapped the rears too. Reseated all the coils in the isolators (obviously), got them good and snug up to the rubber stops. Side-by-side compare shows the spring I had on the left rear is clearly shorter. Pic shows the level bubble WAY over to the right.