• 1 Post By GmanWJ
  • 2 Post By GmanWJ

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-01-2021, 10:31 PM Thread Starter
GmanWJ

2002 WJ 

Garage
Installed EBC rotors and pads. Wow that's a lot of noise

Just to lay the groundwork; I have changed Bella's rotors several times. Pads even more. Done brakes on a few other cars too. I am not a complete noob. Usually, new rotors and pads are pretty smooth, not especially noisy.

So today I installed new EBC slotted and dimpled rotors with yellow stuff pads. My old rotors were pretty well used up, it was time for new. Also new Crown parking brake shoes.

Pumped up brakes before leaving the garage. Backing out, no noise until I stepped on the pedal, which produced an uncomfortable grinding noise. Never heard that before. Continuing, less aggressive grinding with foot off the pedal, more noise when turning, still more when applying pressure.

Was going to go around the block, but the grinding noise was continuous. Alarming. I did a few very short forward and back maneuvers: more grinding sounds. So I just parked it. Brakes are not supposed to make that kind of noise.

Also: installed Synergy wheel spacers to gain clearance on the front sway bar quick discos. My tires were rubbing on tight turns. Honestly, if I did not need to install spacers, I would not have replaced rotors quite yet.

What do you guys think? Do EBC pads usually make this kind of noise?

Attached Thumbnails
IMG_20210501_175502363_1619929879612.jpg   IMG_20210501_161700202_1619929892778.jpg  

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2.5" OME HD & Bilsteins
Dual Batteries
Aux Trailer Hookups (8awg charging & backup cam)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 05-02-2021, 03:05 AM
Frambo
2004 WJ