HighBeam Light Bar splice - JeepForum.com
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By GeoffPeterson
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-10-2019, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
jeepdewey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 45
HighBeam Light Bar splice

Has anyone wired there light bar to there HighBeam switch, I want it as simple as possible . I'm trying to have it so I don't need a new switch and I can use the highbeams switch as a switch for the light bar.

jeepdewey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-10-2019, 10:33 PM
SoCal2004wj
Registered User
 
SoCal2004wj's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 168
I imagine you could activate the light bar by tapping into the high beam relay. However, it may cause problems since the relay and fuse were never intended to carry the load for both the high beams and the light bar. I would just wire a separate switch, relay, and fuse. It's only a flick of a switch.
SoCal2004wj is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-10-2019, 10:50 PM
underscore
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 2,109
Tap into the high beam and use that as the power source for a switch. Have that switch trigger a relay and have that relay drive the light bar. Then when you need to switch off the high beam and the light bar all you have to do is pull the normal arm, but the light bar doesn't have to be on every time the high beams are on.


If for whatever reason you do always want the light bar on with the high beams just have the high beam wire trigger a relay that supplies power to the light bar.

07 WK CRD//QDII//OME MD//MALONE 1.5//OMG WTF BBQ
underscore is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 Old 12-11-2019, 05:38 AM
HarryH3
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Planet Houston
Posts: 2,535
Check out the wiring diagram near the bottom of this page: https://ck5.com/forums/resources/wir...ing-lights.36/ The factory wiring colors are probably different, since that project was on a Suburban, but the switch and relay wiring will be the same. Just connect your light bar to the "driving lights" circuit in the diagram.
HarryH3 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-11-2019, 05:12 PM
GeoffPeterson
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Rural NW Nevada
Posts: 127
I'm wiring my driving lights that way. Connect the relay trigger to the high beam fuse (either left or right side) using one of these piggyback fuse connectors. DON"T wire your lights up directly without using a relay.


https://www.walmart.com/ip/2-Add-A-C...20fuse&veh=sem
Reech likes this.
GeoffPeterson is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome