Double platinum spark plugs made me lose power. WHY? - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
 24Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 48 Old 08-29-2021, 06:07 AM Thread Starter
Cobra Jeep
1993 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by leadsled jeep View Post
I used to design spark plugs for turbine engines back at Unison in FL twenty years ago. I am a materials engineer (MS) though specializing in ceramics.

Pt electrodes should be used when erosion is the main concern. Sparks liberate a tiny bit of metal with each event. Pt resists erosion better than standard plugs. Thatís why plugs round off over time. Spark ya like to jump from sharp corners & these erode over time. Iridium does much the same thing. If you have trouble getting to / reaching plugs to change then yes by all means use them. If access isnít a problem thereís only the downside of slightly greater resistance and slightly less energy with each spark event.

Double ground electrodes is a marketing ploy also really. It does allow the center electrode to use more of its sharp edges BUT it also shields the gas from the spark also. Gimmic really.
Thanks for the explanation.
I had no idea about the resistance of the copper Vs. platinum and the spark each one produces.
It makes a little more sense now why those plugs made me lose power, if the spark is weaker.

I have 4 Jeeps. 3 with the 4.0, and one with a old AMC V8 (401). They all have copper plugs in them, and now they will never have anything but copper plugs.

'93 YJ 4.6L stroker, AX-15, NP-231HD/SYE, 8.8in rear, OME 2.5 lift, home made front hub conversion, hydroboost. Warn M10000 winch.

'79 Cherokee Chief, 401 MPFI fuel injection, T-18/D-20 and hydroboost. Otherwise stock.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #17 of 48 Old 08-29-2021, 06:27 AM
snowbuggy
2004 WJ