Door skin repair - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-16-2020, 08:43 PM Thread Starter
Spenbass
2001 WJ 

I suppose this could have been posted in any of the Jeep forums, but I have a WJ so here goes:
Some asshat backed a steakbed truck into my driver’s side door. No collision insurance, so I’m not going to spend significant money on a repaint. Do you think if I pull out the dent that hole could be patched with bondo? Easy to match paint? Bottom line, I don’t care if it’s not a pristine match. I just don’t want it to be looking like a total hatchet job. How hard is this to do for a complete novice? I have no painting experience. Waste of time? Any advice appreciated. Thanks.

Attached Thumbnails
8DC7123B-3F8B-4AF1-ACDC-5D9566F552C3_1600310589395.jpg  

2001 WJ Limited- 4.7
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 09-16-2020, 09:14 PM
anotherheep

Not sure how accessible it is, but I would remove the inside door panel and see if you could beat it out from the inside. Keep a decent size rubber mallet face on the outside damage as you tap out on the dent.
post #3 of 4 Old 09-16-2020, 09:42 PM
WJ60

2001 WJ 

Garage
You can do it. Here's a video to help with the painting. Retrieve your paint code and get a couple of cans of spray paint from a Mopar parts place online.

post #4 of 4 Old 09-16-2020, 10:37 PM
Bigrigr

2000 WJ 

Garage