Carfax Record ? - JeepForum.com
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 06-28-2020, 10:40 PM Thread Starter
PreciousTime
2004 WJ 

Carfax Record ?

Hello members. Newbie here. Been lurking about on this forum researching about WJís. So I have a somewhat odd question. I did do a search with no results. Iím interested in getting a WJ to make into an all around adventure rig. Iím looking at 2002-04ís with the Overland trim. Or at least something with the HO 4.7, the Quada Drive system and the tow package. As Iím surfing the net looking at WJís to see what mileage and prices they are going for. Iíve been reading the Carfax reports and what service is reported. Some get a good amount of reported service but some show very little. They may show emission test or registration. Some hardly an oil change let alone other important routine maintenance. So??? I know this is probably a unanswerable question but what do you think might be going on with the WJís that show very little service records? Are they just not getting any routine service? Is the owner doing it all like I do? Is the place providing the service is just not reporting it? New the Overland wasn't cheap so what would the typical new WJ Overland owner be like? Most WJís have had two or more owners and often you can see a change of reported service they may get with the different owners. Just curious as Iím searching. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 06-29-2020, 02:37 AM
CJREX

2004 WJ 

Carfax depends on the service being reported by the servicing vendor, which means that dealers and national chains will be the ones that usually input that data regularly.

Most guys who wrench on Jeeps wouldn't take their Jeep to a Jiffy Lube or the dealer for routine maintenance so it goes unreported.