4.7L HO and the case of the missing oil... - JeepForum.com
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Cirruslydakota
  • 1 Post By Double E

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 11-18-2019, 01:54 PM Thread Starter
borisb

4.7L HO and the case of the missing oil...

Hi everyone, I have a WJ 170K on it, and it has been oil thirsty since I've owned it (6 months and 15k miles). Last straw occurred yesterday as I had to top off oil after a full change done in September (600 miles ago). After I topped off the oil (added a quart), I drove 150 miles, and the oil was right back where it started (1/4 inch below the add mark on the dipstick).

I've narrowed it down to PCV valve or coolant mixing issue. It is not being burned off as there is no black residue round the tailpipe or grey/blue smoke and it is not leaking out onto pavement as I check often and there is never a puddle or spot. Anyway I could check either of these theories?

What do you think? I am a very inexperienced home mechanic so any advice on other things to check or how to replace a PCV valve would be incredibly helpful. I should, add almost every time in the last few months I have checked the oil, it has been in the "add" section. I know the key to longevity of the 4.7L is fluid changes so I want to correct this ASAP.

Thanks all for the help!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 11-18-2019, 02:05 PM
sdg3205

2001 WJ 

Are you also loosing coolant? You can always have your oil analyzed by Blackstone labs who can confirm if coolant is in the oil.

I suspect your just burning it. Valve stem seals on these engines wear out and result in a lot of burned oil.

Crawl under with a good light and look for leaks.
post #3 of 13 Old 11-18-2019, 02:07 PM
Cirruslydakota
1999 WJ 

Mine was eating a quart about every 2-300 miles before I rebuilt it. Valve seals were the culprit, wouldn't always smoke and only blew blue smoke when it idled for a while and i gave it throttle. 190,000 miles.

Sent from my LM-G710VM using Tapatalk