242HD, D44A, or IRO SYE is shot. Need help, mechanic can't figure it out. - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 09-16-2020, 07:15 PM Thread Starter
DoctorTim

2002 WJ 

242HD, D44A, or IRO SYE is shot. Need help, mechanic can't figure it out.

Believe me when I say this. My mechanic and I have been chasing this vibration ghost for a few months now and are completely puzzled by it. During this time I've had a HnT SYE from IRO that was way off balance potentially hiding a different vibration and a rear axle build that isn't going well due to the ****ty aluminum 44A housing bending after welding a truss on.
I believe 242HD is shot or the IRO SYE is off. Mechanic agrees but also believes my D44A build isn't going well...

Where i think my problems began:
I once shifted from 4ft (full time) to 2wd on pavement and it let out a huge bang/shutter in the drive line when i made a turn. Im certain it was stuck in 4pt as this was a common problem for me with my 242. My problems began there but were not all present after this event.

Immediately after the event I noticed my TC output shaft could slide in/out about 1/8".

Current symptoms:
Vibration at 40mph+
Lots of gear-bearingish noise coming from the TC (confirmed with stethoscope).
Part-time/full-time planetary gear (right next to chain sprocket gear) has significant play in the sun gears. Mechanic and local gear shop state this is something that can cause vibrations.
242HD HnT SYE installed from IRO with custom driveshaft. First SYE yoke was way out of balance so they sent me a couple replacements.
Had the replaced yoke and ds checked and re-balanced by a shop that balances drivelines for baja race trucks, i trust them.
Also ran the front driveshaft in the rear (very close lengths) and no change to vibration