2004 Grand Cherokee 4.0 General Questions - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 11-21-2017, 06:28 PM Thread Starter
BeefyJeep

2004 Grand Cherokee 4.0 General Questions

I will start by saying I am not a car expert by any means (obviously) I'm pretty novice.
But I am actively trying to make up for lost time and learn about cars.

I am trying to do some moderate maintenance on my 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee that has a 4.0L straight six.
This is technically my first car, I got it when I was 18, I am now 23.
While I have taken moderate care of the car (Definitely went overboard on the wax, yet it still found a way to rust), I never really focused on the engine aside from the regular oil/fluid change.

Now I was never aware of this until recently, but apparently the 4.0L in an 04 is pretty rare?

I am going to be running seafoam through the engine pretty soon, prior to my oil change.
It has 225,000 miles on it, and I'm guessing it's never been seafoamed before.
I know you can run it through the vacuum hose, but that thing is ON there. So I was thinking about running it through the intake manifold. Instead of removing that box over the manifold, can I just take off that big hose (which I believe is the hose from the air filter?), take a long skinny funnel, stick it through where the airhose used to be, and just run the seafoam through it?

Also speaking of rust, my rear left wheelwell is rusting pretty bad. I've bondo'd it twice now, and it ain't stopping. It's gotten to the point where the whole sheetmetal needs to be replaced. Though I'm not worried about that until the spring, much too cold out. Where can I find a replacement panel? Does the panel actually come in purchasable segments? Or do I need to go to a junkyard with a metal cutter? Same goes for the left, very bottom trim.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 11-21-2017, 08:05 PM
RoysJeep

2004 WJ 

Garage
First of all, welcome!
Secondly, to answer your questions.