2Likes
  • 1 Post By rfesu
  • 1 Post By helijeeper

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 07-10-2020, 11:05 PM Thread Starter
samuerisym

2003 4.0L Engine Replacement

Hey y'all,

I'm restoring an 03 WJ and I'm currently looking at sourcing a 4.0L engine. I need an opinion on which I should pick as I'm fairly new to the game and this is a big job for me. I've found an 00 TJ 4.0 with 86k miles on her for $450 and I'm fairly certain the head is good on the Cherokee I currently have. My thought process with that is that I can swap the head from my blown engine (probably a spun crank bearing) onto the TJ engine because it had a faulty head on it in that model year. Of course, I could go the junkyard route and spend a day pulling one myself, though my local junkyard doesn't offer any warranty on self - pulled parts. The junkyard route would cost me $200 for an engine that's probably good (little risky). My third option is to rebuild the engine. I've figured out using rock auto that it would cost me roughly $300 to rebuild the engine assuming it is indeed a spun bearing. My problem with rebuilding is that it would take around 10-12 hours and rebuilding is always a pandora's box. Those are my three options currently, I don't know if the TJ engine would be a direct swap either or if it would take heavy mods. I plan to sell this car but I've really fallen in love with it. Thank you so much to anyone who took time out of their day to read this, and it means the difference of what I decide from the advice y'all give.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 07-11-2020, 07:55 AM
rfesu

there's no way to rebuild that thing for $300 properly. if you 'spin a crank bearing' usually the lack of oil pressure from that has caused other damage. at the very least you'll want to have some proper machine work done rather than just slapping it together.