• 1 Post By brandongohsman

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-15-2021, 04:27 PM Thread Starter
brandongohsman
2011 WK 

Garage
Too Many Struts on the Dance Floor

Happy Saturday!

So, I need new shocks. I have a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland with the 5.7L Hemi and Quadralift. You would think that would be enough to know which parts I need. That’s what I thought, and I was wrong.

I’ve been using Rock Auto for Jeep parts for almost 20 years. And it has traditionally been a pretty straightforward process. But, with this vehicle, even looking at only Mopar parts, I have multiple options. And unlike the shocks for my 1999 Grand Cherokee, this thing was built on a Mercedes platform. So the price difference is…significant.

So what I need to do is figure out the exact parts that are currently on it. And, so far, I haven’t come up with a reliable way of doing that short of taking them off and looking at the part numbers stamped in them.

So, before I do that, I thought I’d see who else has already gone through this process, what you did and how it went. Also, any cautionary tales, gotchas or other advice are welcome. I knew my last Jeep inside and out. But this is a completely different beast.

Now, the air system isn’t leaking. So I should be able to rebuild the assemblies with new shocks. The rear shocks appear slightly simpler as they don’t have the air springs. I’m not looking to change the ride or do anything fancy. Just take old, worn shocks and replace them with equivalent new ones.

Anywho, the parts are pricey enough that the consequences for getting it wrong are a bit high. I can tackle the work, I just want to make sure I know what I’m doing first. Never thought I’d miss good old coil springs.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 05-15-2021, 11:05 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced

2011 WK