Service TPMS light staying on no matter what - JeepForum.com
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 01-15-2020, 11:59 AM Thread Starter
islandjeeper2
Registered User
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 34
Service TPMS light staying on no matter what

i have a 2014 wk2 and i have had the service TPMS system on for quite a while now. ive taken it to the dealership and they tested each sensor in the tires and said they were fine and reset the system atleast 3 different times but everytime the light would come back in a day. the dealership then told me it was the tpms module so i got that replaced and reprogrammed at the dealership and i still have the light on saying the same thing. all the sensors are showing the PSI for each tire and fluctuate when adding or taking out air. im stumped and so is the dealership, im wondering if anyone has any suggestions or has encountered this before.

islandjeeper2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 01-15-2020, 01:33 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 14,968
Did the dealer mention the error codes recorded? Does the TIPM lamp flash and go solid?

Are you saying the dash readings of the pressor is functioning OK?

When a sensor battery gets low, it can go intermittent, which will latch a code.

Did you replace all the sensors? Are they OEM sensors or aftermarket?

Never Argue With An idiot. They'll Lower You To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience!
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 01-15-2020, 01:40 PM Thread Starter
islandjeeper2
Registered User
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
Did the dealer mention the error codes recorded?

Are you saying the dash readings of the pressor is functioning OK?

When a sensor battery gets low, it can go intermittent, which will latch a code.

Did you replace all the sensors?
they didnt mention any codes to me. the pressure sensors are reading correct. i havent replaced any sensors because the technician had a device he put next to each valve stem and said none of the sensors are giving off an error or have a low battery.
islandjeeper2 is offline  
 
post #4 of 20 Old 01-15-2020, 01:43 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 14,968
Does the TIPM lamp flash and go solid?

Are they OEM sensors or aftermarket?

Sensors can go intermittently bad, so they test good most of the time but have a glitch now and then. Folks have reported this kind of thing with aftermarket sensors.

But wee need the codes to be of much help and the data:

•Tire * Pressure Sensor HW Defective
•Tire * Rotation Detection HW Defective
•Tire * Loss of Sensor Signal
•Tire * Missing Sensor ID
•Tire * Duplicate Sensor ID


Are you driving anywhere near radars or radio equipment that could be interfering with the sensor RF signals?

Never Argue With An idiot. They'll Lower You To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience!
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 01-15-2020, 01:57 PM Thread Starter
islandjeeper2
Registered User
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 34
yes it blinks like 70 times then stays solid. they are all oem. not really sure what else could be causing the problem
islandjeeper2 is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 01-16-2020, 09:41 AM
JeepCares
FCA Customer Care
 
JeepCares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MOPAR World Headquarters
Posts: 5,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by islandjeeper2 View Post
i have a 2014 wk2 and i have had the service TPMS system on for quite a while now. ive taken it to the dealership and they tested each sensor in the tires and said they were fine and reset the system atleast 3 different times but everytime the light would come back in a day. the dealership then told me it was the tpms module so i got that replaced and reprogrammed at the dealership and i still have the light on saying the same thing. all the sensors are showing the PSI for each tire and fluctuate when adding or taking out air. im stumped and so is the dealership, im wondering if anyone has any suggestions or has encountered this before.
Hello islandjeeper2,
We are certainly sorry to hear about your ongoing concern. To clarify, when was your most recent diagnosis with the dealer? If your most recent appointment was in the last two weeks, or if you’re willing to head back to your dealer again, we would be more than happy to escalate a case on your behalf so that a Case Specialist can work alongside your dealer to find a potential solution. Please let me know how you plan to proceed when you can, hope to hear from you soon.
Laura
JeepCares
JeepCares is online now  
post #7 of 20 Old 01-21-2020, 04:48 PM Thread Starter
islandjeeper2
Registered User
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
Does the TIPM lamp flash and go solid?

Are they OEM sensors or aftermarket?

Sensors can go intermittently bad, so they test good most of the time but have a glitch now and then. Folks have reported this kind of thing with aftermarket sensors.

But wee need the codes to be of much help and the data:

•Tire * Pressure Sensor HW Defective
•Tire * Rotation Detection HW Defective
•Tire * Loss of Sensor Signal
•Tire * Missing Sensor ID
•Tire * Duplicate Sensor ID


Are you driving anywhere near radars or radio equipment that could be interfering with the sensor RF signals?
so i just got the codes and they were C151D-00 and C1580-00. im not sure what they mean but im curious to know how to fix them.
islandjeeper2 is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 01-21-2020, 05:51 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 14,968
I'd suspect a sensor(s) with an acceleration (or rotation) hardware fault, a damaged harness, bad grounds, or interfering accessories. A sensor may not be transmitting all the data, but enough to fool a hand held tester. Most of these kinds of faults are due to interference of some kind, like a noisy alternator or a bad ground sparking.

If these codes are reset and come back then its saying the TPM can't determine the TPM sensor positions. Cause could be non-FCC compliant components, sensor(s), the TPM module, incorrect TPM installation, aftermarket devices installed (I've heard that some USB cables, adapters, and devices can interfere so disconnect them all). Interference may occur if the TPM Module is installed incorrectly or the TPM harness is not fastened properly to the body (affects antenna performance).

A system fault can occur by many scenarios, including the following:

•Signal interference due to electronic devices or driving next to facilities emitting the same Radio Frequencies as the TPM sensors.
•Installing some form of aftermarket window tinting that affects radio wave signals.
•Accumulation of snow or ice around the wheels or wheel housings.
•Using tire chains on the vehicle.
•Using wheels not equipped with TPM sensors.

The premium Tire Pressure Monitoring (TPM) module is located behind the left rear wheel splash shield mounted to weld studs over the fuel inlet pipe bracket. The TPM receives information from each of the sensors in the form of RF signals. The information contained in each of the transmissions provides all the information necessary for the TPM to determine the pressure in each tire as well as the position of the sensor. This auto-locating process only happens in the first 10 minutes of any drive cycle while traveling at speeds above 15mph (24 km/h) (The auto-locating process will start again only if the vehicle has been shut off for approximately 20 minutes or longer). The TPM then transmits the required information directly to the CCN in order to update the lamp, chime and display as required.

C1580-00-LEFT/RIGHT SIDE TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR LOCATION UNDETERMINED

To be set, it must fail multiple vehicle TPM sensor locate processes if localization fails due to Left/Right fail or if the TPM module is new and has never attempted localization.

To further diagnose you need a scan tool that can read TPM sensor data, including pressure sensor hardware fault, temperature sensor hardware fault, acceleration sensor hardware fault.

If the fault is intermittent, replace the TPM module


C151D-00-TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR LOCATION UNDETERMINED

This code should not exist on its own, it is probably set by the fault above.

To be set, it must fail multiple vehicle TPM Sensor locate processes if localization fails due to Left/Right fail or Front/Rear fail or if the TPM Module is new and has never attempted localization. If missing TPM Sensors are present on first drive, C151D will set to show that the TPM Sensor location cannot be determined/guaranteed (cannot revert to last known good locations).

Never Argue With An idiot. They'll Lower You To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience!
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 01-21-2020, 06:08 PM Thread Starter
islandjeeper2
Registered User
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 34
i have changed the tpm module already with a new oem unit and then went to the dealership to get it programmed correctly. i dont really know what else to check other than changing all 4 of the tire sensors which is not going to be cheap.
islandjeeper2 is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 01-21-2020, 06:59 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 14,968
I would try disconnecting the battery for 5 minutes, let the jeep sit for at least 20 minutes, drive more than 15 mph for 20 minutes and see what happens.

For some reason the module can't determine accurately where the sensors are, so the dash reading may be for a different wheel.

The TPM uses information transmitted from each of the wheel sensors as well as the difference in the strength of the signal received to determine the location of each of the sensors. Its the so called WAL protocol.

The information transmitted are samples from a from a dual-axis accelerometer in the sensor, which determines the right/left position of the tire monitor in response to a forward acceleration. The front/rear position of the transmitting tire monitor is detected by the signal strength of the transmission.

This is why the sensors are actually more complex than the receiver, and why the cheap or aftermarket sensors often don't work correctly.... and interference can affect performance.

Never Argue With An idiot. They'll Lower You To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience!
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 01-21-2020, 07:12 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 14,968
My nephew that sometimes does tire work deals with something like this often. He use a programming tool for TPMS and walks around the vehicle, holding it to each sensor, and write down the sensor IDs. (most tire shops in the US do this for free)

Then they use their shop scanner to read the sensor data in the TPMS module and write down the IDs.

If the IDs don't match, they replace the sensor. If everything checks out then they replace the TPMS module. Rare, but you get a bad replacement TPMS module.

Schrader or OEM sensors seem to work well. He now prefers generic sensors with a metal stem that are more resistant to corrosion, but they have the programming tools.

Also, the sensors have a radio transmitter and when batteries get weak, the signal weakens. Sometimes the computer picks it up, sometimes not. When it doesn't pick up a signal, it sets a system fault and status message. These sensor signals can go in and out for some time before completely going dead.

Never Argue With An idiot. They'll Lower You To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience!
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 01-21-2020, 07:25 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 14,968
You could also try increasing pressure to 40 psi, driving 45 minutes, then reduce the tire pressure to your working pressure.

Never Argue With An idiot. They'll Lower You To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience!
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 01-21-2020, 08:15 PM Thread Starter
islandjeeper2
Registered User
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 34
i will need to give those recommendations a try. i just wish it would tell me which sensor it was because i have gone to the dealer 2 different times and the tech went around to each sensor and got the sensor ID number and updated it to the correct location and still the light would come on later. i was going to try to see if i can us the appcar FCA program to see if i can make any changes.
islandjeeper2 is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 01-22-2020, 08:59 AM
GPSBob
Registered User
2015 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cedar Rapids
Posts: 166
I think the system uses multiple antennas to pick up the sensor signals. Could one of those be bad? Seems like maybe if an antenna/connection is bad, the system might receive all of the sensor signals, but would not be able to determine which sensor is at each wheel.
GPSBob is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 01-22-2020, 09:17 AM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 14,968
The older and base system may have a couple antennas... the OP has a premium system where the antenna is internal to the TPMS module. The base system does not have a TPMS module, the early model's WIN received the info from the sensors.

Never Argue With An idiot. They'll Lower You To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience!
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome