Rough Country Strut replacement lift kit owners... - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 06-14-2021, 11:45 PM Thread Starter
camaroboi13
2017 WK 

Rough Country Strut replacement lift kit owners...

I'm looking for input on these for anyone who's successfully installed these or had them installed. There was a time when I was an ASE certified mechanic, so I'm no dummy when it comes to working on vehicles.

I purchased the $599 kit that replaces the whole strut assembly in the front, and comes with new shocks and springs in the rear. I started on the driver's side front. Tore everything apart, and replaced the strut. One of the new struts has an L on it, and the other has an R, any normal person would assume left and right. I attempted to install the one with an L on the driver's side, but nothing was lining up the way it should. The strut was laying right on top of the axle, and the Rough Country branded decal on the shock was facing inward towards the engine. Seems like a manufacturer would want to show off their brand by putting the decal facing outward towards the wheels. So I removed the strut and replaced it with the one that says R on it.

The strut lined up much better and allowed for more movement. I do notice however that the cv boot is slightly up against the clevis of the strut, and over time this will likely wear out and dump grease all over the place, prematurely destroying my axle. I MAY be able to get in there and move the boot just a hair to prevent this from happening, hard to tell just yet.

So on to the passenger side. I had a good idea what I was doing after many failed attempts on the driver's side. The passenger side took me 28 minutes to completely disassemble, and with the help of a ratcheting strap to bring the upper control arm to the steering knuckle, I was in and out in roughly two hours. Lastly, the sway bar...