No power to head unit/stereo after install? - JeepForum.com
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By ColdCase
  • 1 Post By ColdCase
  • 1 Post By LittleLebowski
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 07-04-2020, 04:43 PM Thread Starter
LittleLebowski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 13
No power to head unit/stereo after install?

I installed my second aftermarket head unit on my WK2 (2015 V6 limited) today, everything was working great, and after putting it back in the dash, Iíve got no power whatsoever to the head unit. I reworked my yellow, black, and red cables to the head unit multiple times, and checked every fuse I could think of, still no dice. Right now, Iíve got the negative battery cable pulled and Iím letting it sit until I can find a new idea to try. I believe that this might be a common problem. I would appreciate what advice/ideas the forum might offer.

LittleLebowski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 07-04-2020, 04:49 PM Thread Starter
LittleLebowski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 13
Iíve only found the fuse box under the hood, is there another internal fusebox?
LittleLebowski is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 07-04-2020, 08:10 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 15,968
Is that a base or premium radio?

There is a separate 20A radio fuse in 2014, dunno about 2015. Runs from the battery jumper post I think. Off hand I don't recall where to find it. F71 is a 30 amp that powers the amp.

B+ is pin 44 of connector C1, the wire is red

Yellow is a CAN C bus in C1 pin 11. The other wire of the CAN bus pair is gray.

Black on pin 43 oc C1 is ground.
LittleLebowski likes this.

Some people think I'm stupid and I totally disagree. But my biggest fear is that me thinking I'm smart proves them right.
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 Old 07-05-2020, 10:35 AM Thread Starter
LittleLebowski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
Is that a base or premium radio?

There is a separate 20A radio fuse in 2014, dunno about 2015. Runs from the battery jumper post I think. Off hand I don't recall where to find it. F71 is a 30 amp that powers the amp.

B+ is pin 44 of connector C1, the wire is red

Yellow is a CAN C bus in C1 pin 11. The other wire of the CAN bus pair is gray.

Black on pin 43 oc C1 is ground.
Mucho thanks!

Itís a base radio, no amp. So, I need to get into the battery compartment? Iím trying to understand what you wrote regarding C1.
LittleLebowski is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 07-05-2020, 01:12 PM Thread Starter
LittleLebowski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 13
I didnít find a fuse under the jumper post.
LittleLebowski is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 07-05-2020, 03:21 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 15,968
Its not under the post, somewhere in the engine compartment hanging in line near the firewall I think. There was a post about finding it here awhile ago. Just don't remember the details. Sorry.
LittleLebowski likes this.

Some people think I'm stupid and I totally disagree. But my biggest fear is that me thinking I'm smart proves them right.
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 07-06-2020, 12:58 PM Thread Starter
LittleLebowski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 13
Iím certain itís a blown fuse after using a multimeter to find that the yellow wire to the head unit has 2mV only, I just canít find a single blown fuse anywhere, including on the harness.
LittleLebowski is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 07-06-2020, 01:19 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 15,968
The yellow wire at the radio is the CAN bus, you shouldn't see much of anything there unless you throw a scope or network analyzer on it. The red wire is B+. Perhaps this?
Attached Thumbnails
Screen Shot 2020-07-06 at 3.17.26 PM.jpg  

Some people think I'm stupid and I totally disagree. But my biggest fear is that me thinking I'm smart proves them right.
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 07-06-2020, 01:33 PM Thread Starter
LittleLebowski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
The yellow wire at the radio is the CAN bus, you shouldn't see much of anything there unless you throw a scope or network analyzer on it. The red wire is B+. Perhaps this?
@ColdCase I really appreciate your help so far, but I admit I donít know what I am looking at/to look for. Check the red wire?
LittleLebowski is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 07-06-2020, 02:05 PM Thread Starter
LittleLebowski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 13
@ColdCase you were onto something with the lone weirdo fuse! Found this bugger in the battery compartment under the passenger seat and sure as hell, itís blown. I gave up on searching for 2015 WK2 fuses and started searching Dodge Durango fuse locations. Oh man, I owe you. Thank you so much. Of course, I donít have a spare one of these anywhere, so itís off to autozone in the wifeís MILF rocket.
Attached Thumbnails
68625CC3-F35C-4999-AF6E-3C00AA9F308E.jpg  
LittleLebowski is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 07-06-2020, 04:18 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 15,968
Let us know how it goes. I recalled that there was a separate fuse somewhere only on some model years and folks had difficulty finding it. I didn't recall where they found it, unfortunately. Dunno why Jeep isn't clear about the location, they must not want us amateurs messing with it.

Some people think I'm stupid and I totally disagree. But my biggest fear is that me thinking I'm smart proves them right.
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 07-06-2020, 05:17 PM Thread Starter
LittleLebowski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 13
Itís all together and working perfectly
WK2Overland4X4 likes this.
LittleLebowski is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 07-07-2020, 06:36 AM
WK2Overland4X4
Registered User
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
Let us know how it goes. I recalled that there was a separate fuse somewhere only on some model years and folks had difficulty finding it. I didn't recall where they found it, unfortunately. Dunno why Jeep isn't clear about the location, they must not want us amateurs messing with it.
Is that directly to the amp?
WK2Overland4X4 is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 07-07-2020, 10:52 AM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 15,968
From reading the 2014 circuit diagrams, the amp gets power from the fuse in the fuse box, the radio is on this separate fuse. There have been changes through models years, early models fuses were in the fuse box for example. Some model years had no radio fuse, you'd have to disconnect the battery. So your mileage will vary.

Some people think I'm stupid and I totally disagree. But my biggest fear is that me thinking I'm smart proves them right.
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 07-07-2020, 12:37 PM Thread Starter
LittleLebowski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 13
Anyone remember which cable is the factory antenna? I missed that somehow, just need to hook it up. Everything else is great, just no reception.
LittleLebowski is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome