Electronic Throttle control (ETC) and Cruse Control connection? - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 06-14-2019, 09:55 AM Thread Starter
Timotb
Registered User
 
Timotb's Avatar
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canton
Posts: 93
Electronic Throttle control (ETC) and Cruse Control connection?

Hi....

I think I have the WK2 (2012 Grand Cherokee, Larado E model with 6 gas cylinders.

Noticing increasing frequency of having the Electronic Throttle control (ETC) light come on, accompanied with a significant power loss for about 2 seconds and the cruise control working intermittently. Both NOT happening as the same time.

Any diagnosis thoughts?

Thanks

Timotb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 06-14-2019, 10:26 AM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 13,875
Have the fault codes read and report back.

You know you’re a bad driver when Siri says: “In 400 feet, stop and let me out”
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 06-15-2019, 02:19 PM Thread Starter
Timotb
Registered User
 
Timotb's Avatar
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canton
Posts: 93
No fault codes found with OBDII. No check engine light. Was reading other threads about the Electronic Throttle control....suggesting it could be a battery issue. This battery is at least 4 years old but showing no other signs of failure.
Timotb is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 Old 06-15-2019, 04:16 PM
jtec
Registered User
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 6,072
pI suspect the scanner you used may not be reading ALL codes, low end readers are lacking.

You can have codes and the CEL remain off, always use a scanner to chek ALL modules for codes.

If the elec throttle light was or is on there is a code.

When I see the price of OEM I think aftermarket.
When I see the quality of aftermarket I think OEM.
jtec is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 06-15-2019, 07:23 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 13,875
Yeah, what he said. Most OBD scanners just read check engine type codes, not other modules.

Electrical problems, alternator, battery, wiring, grounds cand cause this as well as a dozen other things. So you could throw parts at it if you want. I’d suspect the alternator first, or its grounds, but thats far from a high confidence suggestion.

You know you’re a bad driver when Siri says: “In 400 feet, stop and let me out”
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-16-2019, 12:13 PM Thread Starter
Timotb
Registered User
 
Timotb's Avatar
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canton
Posts: 93
Who reads these deep codes when no engine light is present....besides the dealer? OR....what kind of OBDII scanner is required. Had to tow it to the dealer last night because engine will not start. Still possibly related to E-Throttle body controller IMO.
Timotb is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 07-16-2019, 01:24 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 13,875
A shop would, but probably not for free. Some do as part of a promotion.

There are several pro model scanners, with chrysler interface options, (e.g. autoengenuity) but folks here like alfaOBD or appcar, which are apps than run on a PC or phone that use a ODB interface purchased separately.

You know you’re a bad driver when Siri says: “In 400 feet, stop and let me out”
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 07-16-2019, 01:52 PM
RKLIMAS
Registered User
2012  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 2
There is a $12 brake switch at the end of the brake pedal under the dashboard. This will fail and cause the ETC to act up. I took my 2012 JGC into a dealer several times. They replaced the ETC and other stuff. Still got the ETC warning light. The dealer never found the bad brake switch which was causing the problem. I ordered one online and changed it my self. No problems after that.
RKLIMAS is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 07-16-2019, 03:09 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 13,875
Yeah the brake switch is one of the more common causes of this. But thats a guess.

You know you’re a bad driver when Siri says: “In 400 feet, stop and let me out”
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 07-17-2019, 02:05 PM Thread Starter
Timotb
Registered User
 
Timotb's Avatar
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canton
Posts: 93
Problem was a FUEL PUMP RELAY. Jeep issued recall R09 on this issue and it was performed previously.
Timotb is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome