Brake controller no tow package - JeepForum.com
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By locojeep
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 07-15-2020, 09:50 PM Thread Starter
locojeep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 2
Brake controller no tow package

Hi there a long time lurker first time poster.

I have a 2015 jeep grand Cherokee Limited (no sunroof 😞.

I didn’t have the factory tow package, so I added an aftermarket hitch, and had the ECU flashed by the dealership so that I could tow trailers. I now need to tow a trailer with brakes. I ordered the Tekonsha p3 and the harness it seems to have power as the back light is on but nothing else shows on the screen. I understand it should at least show the logo? Any ideas? Could it be a faulty unit?

locojeep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 07-19-2020, 10:55 AM
DRKRED12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Fern Park
Posts: 382
Call them and also try a Google search with the issue you are having.
DRKRED12 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 07-20-2020, 08:48 AM Thread Starter
locojeep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 2
Haha, I definitely searched high & low and if you ever called the service center, you know how that often goes. They were confused when I told them I needed them to enable my lights.

Now, to close the loop so that anyone else searching gets the answer.

THE BRAKE CONTROLLER HARNESS IS ENABLED. It turned out I got a bad brand new p3. Replacement units work 100% fine.

And if you are curious here is how I troubleshooted to confirm.

1) Use voltameter on 20v DC, connect to jeep harness- black wire and frame for ground. Confirmed power. Tested the the other wires as well (one if for brake lights so you need to step on brake).
2) connected controller and used voltameter to confirm that brake light and return wire had power when pressing on brakes. I expected this to not work (as the unit is not working) but it did return voltage. So my operating assumption was that the controller screen is not working but the controller itself would technically function (possibly)
3) got a second unit, tested it, everything is fine.
WK2Overland4X4 likes this.
locojeep is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 07-20-2020, 10:09 AM
Niangua
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 17
Have you tried putting the trailer on the hitch locked down? I had a similar problem and ran myself ragged looking for a problem that wasn't there.
Niangua is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-20-2020, 10:12 AM
Niangua
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 17
Re-post. the trailer itself has to complete the grounding circuit.
Niangua is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 07-20-2020, 10:35 AM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 17,492
Good catch

I just got lost in thought. It was unfamiliar territory;
Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome